Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This is the ol' standby recipe that has always worked for me. I do add some salt, not necessary but I like it. You can't depend on the exact amount of water from any tortilla recipe. Add enough water until the dough feels like play-dough, not dry enough to crack but not wet enough to be sticky. I use tools to help me: a KitchenAid stand mixer to knead the dough and a tortilla press to make lovely, thin rounds. And yes, I cook them on a cast-iron skillet. Fresh tortillas are so worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this recipe twice today! It was very easy & relatively quick. I did add chicken bouillon to the water and 1 tsp of salt. I figured out the correct consistency of the dough is similar to that of play-doh. I found if the dough dried out I sprayed it with a little water from a spray bottle to rehydrate without making it sticky. I used a freezer Ziploc bag for my rolling sheets of choice (I tried parchment paper, but it pulls moisture from the dough). I don't have a tortilla press, so used my small cutting board for first press of the dough, then finished with my rolling pin, turning the tortilla after each roll which gave me an end result of a nice (fairly round) tortilla. I began the cooking process with a hot dry skillet, cooked 25 seconds, flipped & cooked 25 seconds, flipped again, lightly pressing the tortilla just until it started to fill with air cooking 25 seconds (got that air pocket many say is important), then one more flip for 25 seconds more & set on a plate covered by a bowl to keep the heat and moisture in (I also put a damp towel on the plate to wrap the tortillas in). The tortillas were soft and had a wonderful taste. I wrapped & stored them in the fridge. I made a couple of empanadas (small fried meat pies) with the dough. One with some shredded left-over Asian pork & one with some thick chili. My husband liked them so much, he asked if I would make some more for our dinner that night. I served them with a nice tossed salad. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great recipe, easy I added 2 T coconut oil and a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
these are the best.... took a couple time's to get them perfect but have it down thank you so much for sharing will pass this one on.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
These were yummy! I did add salt though. easy! it was fun to make them. actually made for dinner and again for a mexican breakfast the next morning! You do need to adjust the water until the dough is the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIDOESLOANS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Using the Maseca brand corn flour (not an easy find in France!) I followed the recipe as is except for the addition of a bit of salt. I don't have a tortilla press and found just using my hands and pressing the dough onto a piece of plastic wrap worked great. The plastic wrap was used so I could transfer them from the counter to the pan. If I found that the dough was breaking, I just sealed the cracks with some water on my fingers as I used my hand to press the dough balls into their final tortilla shape. I used my nonstick crepe pan, since I don't have a cast iron pan, to fry them. When done, I transferred them to a plate, covered that plate with another plate flipped upside down, and added a slightly damp paper towel to keep them pliable and warm. I have made them twice and both times they've come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
These taste just like the tortillas my Honduran neighbor used to make. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
very easy and good, made tostados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is my first time trying this recipe. I did use a tortilla press with parchment paper ( it's a little better quality than wax paper) and I let the dough ball sit for more that an hour. It worked like charm, no sticking, no problems just delicious tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I don't particularly enjoy making tortillas - in a home where we make nearly everything from scratch, it's just one more cooking chore in the bag. However, good luck finding non-gmo corn tortillas, so I had to go with homemade, otherwise I just wasn't going to use corn tortillas. This was a little bland, I would definitely try salt next time. Made homemade taquitos with them right off the griddle, and every last one cracked, even while they were warm and covered with a towel. My proportions and cook method could've been off, as I'm only used to making flour tortillas at this point. However, for my purposes, I think in the future I'll just use the raw dough, put in my fillings, and pan fry in a little coconut oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States