Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Since we can't get corn tortillas here, I was severely missing them and was thrilled to find this recipe. After much waiting for a friend to mail me some masa harina from the States, we were thrilled with these tortillas! They do require a good bit of work, but they're yummy! You can also fry them up or spray them with cooking oil to make tortilla chips. Thanks for giving me corn tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
Years ago, I tried to make corn tortillas and the result was a flop. In this case, history has shown to repeat itself. I added about 2 tsp. of salt as others had suggested but shouldn't have bothered because I only formed two tortillas, with much struggle. Making corn torillas, I believe, is a craft that requires patience and perserverence, and I simply gave up. This is a good authentic recipe for those who have experience making corn tortillas (flour tortillas are a piece of cake compared to corn) but I think it gives one the impression that ANYONE can make these. Not the case but I appreciate your submission Gloria, and admire anyone who can master the making of corn tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I loved the flavor, but had trouble getting them to brown. What did I do wrong? Should I have used oil? I couldn't find the masa harina and had to use Maseca corn flour. Is this why they didn't brown? I'll be happy to make them again...my husband loved them even tho they were not browned! GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Thanks so much for this recipe. I had tried others but they always seemed to leave something out of the instructions. These turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Easy. Easy. Easy. One of my kids wanted breakfast burritos. Got ready to make them when I found we were out of tortillas. Did have masa harina in the pantry. So simple to do. I didn't wait the 30 minutes it recommended and they came out fine. Next time, I'll add a little salt. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
These were pretty good. I ended up adding about another 1/2 cup of water. Although I think next time I'll use 1/2 c. of milk instead of that extra 1/2 c. water. I also added about 2 t. salt. I found that the easiest thing to do was to cut the zipper top and sides off of a 1 gallon ziplock bag, place the ball of dough between the hinged halves of the bag, roll the dough out thin with a pin, and cut with a large round cookie cutter (or trace around a plate with a knife). The smaller they are, the easier they are to cook. Make sure you "steam" them in foil or a bag as you remove them from the pan, otherwise they dry out too quickly and crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
All I could find was Masaca at the store, so I tried making tortillas from that. I used this recipe for Tortillas for some enchiladas. When the enchiladas were dunked in the sauce, they immediately began to disintegrate, and subsequently tasted like the dough around tamales--not corn tortillas. I do not know if the different flour had anything to do with this or not. I did not have any troubles kneading, rolling, or cooking the dough. I had to add a little extra water, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Well, I'm certain it's just me, given the other reviews, but this didn't work out for me at all. I've made tortillas (flour & corn) several times before, but I've never used simply masa harina & water before. Anyway, maybe it was because I let the dough sit for 1.5 hours instead of 30 min? Maybe it was because I added salt? The dough seemed ok...not too dry, not too wet and it was workable. Maybe it was because I didn't have a cast iron pan, only teflon? Whatever happened, they just weren't working. Even though they were very thin and I had the heat up high, after a few minutes on each side, they still weren't browning or puffing up in the least. After 30 sec, they were pretty much raw, and my stove is very hot (it's a newer gas stove). They tasted like cardboard - the worst tortillas I've ever had. I did manage to salvage the recipe, though...I cut them into pieces, deep fried them in some olive oil, blotted the oil off, put them on a baking sheet, covered them with sea salt, and baked them in the oven for about 10 min til they crisped up. The result was some of the best tortilla chips I've ever had! I ate them warm with sour cream and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I've come to love making tortillas at home, and I always use this recipe. But I don't have a press, so here's my technique: use a plastic cereal bowl like a cookie cutter to make a perfectly round tortilla. Then just take it off along with the top layer of plastic. Really cuts down on the mess, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Pretty tasty tortillas. I had to add a bit of water after the original mixing, but I overdid it, so I added a touch of flour, etc. Didn't use a tortilla press, as I don't own one, but I did put the dough ball between two pieces of freezer bag plastic, then pressed it with the bottom of a skillet. Smaller and a bit thicker than the tortillas I'm used to, but storebought tortillas can't come close to the taste of this homemade version. I think they can be a lot better with practice, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States