Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I had lost the original recipe that was on the bag of the masa I had bought, so was happy to discover this one, which had the perfect ratio of masa to water. After mixing up some cold water with the masa with a fork (I didn't see that it called for hot water until I read the directions and it was too late by that point) in the bowl until it made a crumbly mixture, I used two cookie scoops full of mixture to roll in a ball in my hand right away (again, didn't see the directions to let it rest - oops!) and it created the perfect small tortilla. They were hard at first, but softened up after sitting for a few minutes/steaming with the others in the stack, and were plenty pliable to bend without breaking - a big fear I had when it came to making corn tortillas instead of flour. This was the first time that I feel I have successfully made corn tortillas, and I couldn't believe how easy it was this time around, so thank you! I happily loaded them up with the "Jayme's Coleslaw" recipes from this site, and some root beer pulled pork leftovers from last night's sliders. Definitely transformed those leftovers with these tacos!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clhoffma
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Simple, delicious and brings a piece of home (SoCal) where ever I live.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Mue Buena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
These are so much better than the ones in the store! I dissolved a tsp of salt into the hot water and then mixed it together with the masa. We followed the advice of others and used a cut open gallon ziplock bag to keep the masa from sticking to the press. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I like making corn tortillas every time I cook which is three to four days a week.. I usually use maseca or masabrosa, flour, and water to make it makes them easier and a lil softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Served with Barbacoa Meat. I should have doubled these together before cooking because the liquids made them soggy. Although I don't like corn tortillas, these were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These are really tasty however, wish I had a tortilla press. I couldn't get them very round but they were functional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Good recipe. Easy to do. I would add some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
So good and so fun to make, we even purchased a cast iron tortilla press! It takes a little practice and harder to make in a frying pan. The dough should be pliable-and not too dry but not sticky-kind of like Play-Dough. If you have masa harina -corn flour (sold in grocery stores) on hand you can make Mexican food anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I added salt. The ratio of the flour and water didn't come out exactly as the recipe said. I had to add more water to achieve the right consistency of the dough. I don't own a press or griddle so I used ziplock bag and a round baking pan and my hands to press and shape the dough. To cook, I tried with iron skillet and non-stick pan. The first batch I made was with non-stick pan. After cooking 30 sec. or if not more on each side, most of them did not puff up and none of them turned brown. They were somewhat dry and tasted like undercooked. I adjusted the amount of the water to the dough and tried the second batch with iron skillet. I don't know if it's because of the electric stove, I had a problem controlling the cooking temperature. Dry, ungreased surface of the skillet didn't help either. So, back to non- stick pan and I tried the 3rd batch. On medium heat(electric stove 5). Making sure the pan is staying pretty hot, throw a tortilla in. And this time, I'm counting time: Cook for about 20 sec, flip, cook for another 20 sec, flip, cook for 10sec, flip, another 10 sec, flip. And it puffs up. Done. Some puffed up after a few flips and I don't know if it has anything to do with the thickness of the dough, but they all came out soft, moist and fully cooked. They just didn't get brown like the picture. Even though this recipe didn't work for me, I did get some really good helpful tips by reading everyone's review so I thank you all for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States