Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I was taught in Honduras to use shortening in the recipe, about a tablespoon, which helps make the masa smoother and also keeps the tortillas from sticking so bad. Use crisco if you dont want to use lard. I buy maseca white but you can find it yellow, which I think is grittier but gives it a more Mexican taste than my host fam likes (they like the smoother white cornmeal). My host Mom also suggested adding just a little bit of coconut milk instead of water if you want to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I think I must have done something wrong because these did not turn out well at all. First of all, my dough wouldn't stick together and was crumbling everywhere, so I had to add more water to keep it together. Then when I rolled the balls out, they started crumbling again and when I tried to cook them, they cooked unevenly. I ended up having to throw the whole thing away and buy tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I used whole milk instead of cream and it was still the best cornbread I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is the basic corn tortilla recipe. If you want more flavor, just add salt, granulated garlic, onion power, pepper...whatever you want. We don't have a tortilla press, so what we do is cut a gallon sized Ziploc bag down the sides. We take the tortilla mix into a ball and place it in the middle of one of the plastic sides. Then bring the other side down on top of the ball. We use a small plastic cutting board (probably 10" x 6") to press the ball into tortillas. They flatten pretty easily. Just peel the plastic off the top of the tortilla and carefully peel the tortilla into your hand. We use a cast iron griddle to cook them on. If your tortillas stick, then they are too wet. If they crumble, they are too dry. You don't need any special equipment to make these. They are great with soup, as "open face" tacos, and the like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Crandon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Alrighty!! I make homemade corn tortillas everyday. There was a previous comment about the tortillas not puffing up. Well, they should puff up. The steam that is trapped within the tortillas makes the tortillas a lot softer. The trick to this is knowing when to flip the tortillas. When you first make the Masa dough, knead the dough for about two minutes. The masa should not stick to your hands and cleans the sides of the bowl. You're griddle should be on Med. High. Lay your tortilla on the griddle when the tortillas doesn't stick flip it, then when you see golden brown marks on the edge of the tortilla, flip again. Gently press the tortilla in the middle to help it fluff. And there you go. It's not very time consuming. Just have to get into the practice of it. But whatever you do, DON'T add lime!! Or baking powder! The recipe above IS the way they make it in Mexico - that's where I learned. Hope this was helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Shurts
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Perfect. Husband's grandma was visiting from Mexico & I watched her. Keep it simple & use water & a little salt. It doesn't look like one giant ball of dough after mixing. More like pie crust with pea sized clumps. Just pick some up, press into a ball and use a tortilla press. I cooked in a cast iron skillet. Husband likes homemade salsa and crumcled queso fresco on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These turned out great, the only changes I made were that I added a tablespoon of lard and a pinch of salt. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Add pinch of salt and a small hand-full of shredded cheese and some bacon bits to give a much different taste. Flatten to about 3/16 inch using the heal of your hand on plastic (food bag) . Transfer to your hand. Peel plastic and flop onto hot dry frying pan, preferably cast iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Simple as possible. Great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
So good and so easy to make! We had tostadas with these and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States