Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I need a cast iron pan for when I try this again. They tasted great, time consumming yes, I wouldn't make this for enchiladas but I would make it for tacos and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
A little on the small side in comparison to the grocery store size. Needs a pinch of salt. I used 2 cups masa to 1 1/8 cups water. They never puffed up or browned while cooking. Super easy to do, but time consuming to cook them up. I used my big cookie scoop to keep the size consistent. Definitely keep the cooked ones covered as you cook the other ones, so they stay flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I haven't made this yet, but would like to. I have corn flour (doesn't say that it's masa harina) and was wondering if it would work to use it for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Jenn, great recipe! This the real thing people :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I've struggled & struggled to make homemade corn tortillas, even after being taught & watching my Honduran friend make them over and over and over again. This is the basic "recipe" that my friend used, but I found that other's suggestions made it PERFECT. I used chicken stock instead of water and a dash of salt and the flavor was fabulous. A freezer bag cut down the sides and a plate was perfect for flattening the tortillas, although my OCD made me smooth the edges out nice and pretty on each of them, but they've NEVER peeled off so easily before, I ALWAYS tore at least 1/2 my batch apart just trying to peel them off the plastic. One trick that my friend had that was perfect though, was to use a wet paper towel to press the tortillas as they're cooking & use to grab the tortillas and flip without burning ur fingers. Pressing with the damp towel helps make the puffy parts of the tortilla that make the beautiful browned spots. With the adjustments, this is definitely a 5 star, but probably only about a 3 1/2 - 4 stars as it's written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Turned out great, I made no alterations and lined my press with parchment paper to allow for easy removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These turned out quite well. I added about 1/4 tsp salt to the dough, rolled out the tortillas between two pieces of plastic (freezer Ziplock cut open) using a rolling pin (they were not round tortillas), and cooked them on a hot cast iron pan. We ate them w/ a bit of cheese (grated and melted on top), salsa, and tomatillo sauce. Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I thought these were really tasty, and they were roll-able and flexible enough for me to use to make enchiladas the next day. They weren't hard and brittle like many of the other homemade tortilla recipes I have tried. What a great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dalittlebear1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This just didn't work for me. It might well have been my own fault, as this was my first time ever making tortillas, but I really have no idea what I might have done wrong. I also made flour tortillas from a different recipe on this site, and they turned out much better. We ended up scrapping the results of this recipe and chowing on the flour ones instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My kids love taco's and since I just started making fresh tortillas. They can't get enough. It took me some time to find a place that sells Masa Harina. But now that I have that looked after, we are eating fresh tortillas on a regular basis. They are so simple to make and taste soo good compared to those expensive tortillas you get at the store. I'm very happy I found this recipe. BTW I add some salt to the masa before I add the hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States