Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Giving 4 stars at this time as I just made two batches for enchiladas this evening. If the hold together while make the enchiladas, then this will definitely be a five star recipe. (I use the Texas Enchilada Sauce by Sue on this site. I get rave reviews with it!!!) ***UPDATE*** Changing to 5 Stars!! Just prepped the enchiladas and the tortilla held together wonderfully, better than store bought! I am so happy...I can do my enchiladas anytime now, no matter what country I am living in!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is the real deal! I grew up eating tortillas made the same way and I still eat them today. Try substituting some of the water with chicken broth for a slightly different flavor or add differents flavors into the masa, such as garlic, onion, or any of your favorite spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Needs something else. I'm thinking maybe some salt and butter. Which is great to just add on the top, tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
What I liked most about this recipe, were the top reviewers. I got a couple of great tips! I love homemade corn tortillas but hate standing over the stove doing one at a time. It takes all day! One of the reviewers mentioned using a pancake griddle and making about 6 at a time. LOVED that idea! Someone else mentioned using parchment paper squares and putting the dough balls between them with the tortilla press. It was the first time I had no sticking what so ever! Having a tortilla container is also neccessary, as if they appear tough at all they will soften up and become pliable when covered after removing from the griddle. However, one thing I noticed, is it was my first time completely using the press and the masa to water ratio differed from the bag. I am not sure why, but they tasted A LOT like the ones from the store just kind of warm. Maybe, it was how thin the press makes them? I am not sure, so next time I will just lightly press it. If that doesn't work, then I will go back to the ratios on the bag. They just seem softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I remember making corn tortillas with my grandmother from nixtamal (corn) ground at the corner molino. We would then take the nixtamal home in a small peltre pot, she would add salt, water and a little lard, and we would make small balls, then pat them into circles with our hands, sort of like clapping, then place them on a comal (flat cast iron skillet) until they were done. We would often eat a few with butter on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Excellent recipe. I used another reviewer's suggestion of cutting up a ziplock bag to use instead of the plastic wrap when forming the tortillas which worked really well. Unlike the plastic wrap, there's no danger in it clinging to itself. Another trick I got from these comments was to pull the plastic off the tortilla dough, rather than pulling the tortilla off the plastic. (if you pull the dough off the plastic then it tears apart). Finally, I used a rolling pin instead of a tortilla press which worked fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
These turned out perfect with my new tortilla press! The only change I made was dividing the dough into 12 sections, which produced the perfect-size weight tortillas. And SO easy (with a tortilla press)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is a simple, basic recipe. I had made corn tortillas before with different recipes, but this one is the best recipe Ive used for homemade corn tortillas. I dont have a tortilla press, I just used a freezer bag and cut it to facilitate the pressing of the dough. I just used a small cast iron pan to press my dough. The trick for getting them off the plastic is the peel the plastic off the tortilla, not the other way around. The tortilla takes awhile to "puff" up, you have to cook both sides, and then turn again, waiting patiently for the air to puff up the tortilla. It definately took longer than "10 seconds" for my tortillas to puff up. With these tips, this is a 5 star recipe, and Ill be making home made corn tortillas more often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Don't taste much better than what I buy at the store. Not sure it was worth the effort. Could maybe use a little bit of salt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
yippie! these worked! easy enough that i directed my boyfriend while i cooked something else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States