Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by JMJ13628
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I've tweeked this recipe to finally make what I consider to be a perfect corn tortilla. First, I add 1 teaspoon of seasoning salt to the masa harina. Without it, they smell wonderful, but taste like a frisbee. I also add about one tablespoon of shortening (or bacon fat) to the hot water and let it melt before adding it to the masa harina. Then I divide the dough into about 12 balls - and use a tortilla press. This makes a perfect sized tortilla. I used to go crazy with the dough sticking - I tried plastic wrap, ziploc bags, parchment - they all stuck and I'd end up swearing way more than I usually do when cooking. What works is a tip I saw in the insert that came with my tortilla press - two circles cut out of plastic grocery bags (don't use the side with ink, or your tortilla will have writing on it). Press your tortillas between those, and they NEVER stick. Also, my corn tortillas NEVER used to puff (but I do like the brown spots that come from puffing). If you pull the dough balls apart and re-roll them right before pressing them, it seems to aerate the dough, and they'll puff and bubble nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is what I use. It's really great, simple. I use it to make my gorditas, but you know I also add salt. I definitely recommend using a tortilla press, although when you make them by hand it's a lot of fun (And good for kids, too!) and they have that 'homey' look to them. My mother in law taught me how to make tortillas that way, and using this basic recipe. Glad to see it on Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Super simple and came out great! 1 cup of masa and 3/4 cup water was the right mixture for me. The tip to roll out between a plastic bag was so important for me since I don't have a press. I used my electric griddle at 400 degrees the transferred to a tortilla keeper. My husband is so impressed. I've been asked to make these on a regular basis for him. Excellent for celiac (gluten free).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Good basic recipe. Would be 5 star with a pinch of salt and substitute 1/8 c. of lime juice for 1/8 c. of the water. My family won't eat store bought corn tortillas anymore. These are so much better there is no comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
super easy.Only change was to add 1/2 tsp of salt. I used my Fry Daddy/came out fine. I just cut each tortilla in 1/8s to fry up chip sized pieces. I went looking for a homemade corn recipe as I had everything to make nachos and found out my chips were stale. I probably won't be allowed to go back to using bagged chips for nachos around here anymore....not having a tortilla press I just used 2 sheets of waxed paper and a rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I used this recipe last night and the tortillas were a hit. At first I tried kneading the masa like I knead bread dough, but it didn't work well; the masa crumbled apart and I had to keep gathering pieces and smashing them back in. I then switched to the clay kneading technique my potter mother-in-law taught me, rocking/pressing/twisting the dough, which worked perfectly to mix the masa. We don't have a tortilla press, so after putting the dough in the gallon zip lock bag I covered it with a heavy bamboo cutting board and my children & I took turns sitting on it to press perfect tortillas! They loved this part! No need for a tortilla press! This recipe made about 10 tortillas for us but I'm not certain, because my husband liked to eat them hot off the comal with butter & salt. Next time I'll double it so we'll have enough for man snacks, dinner, and breakfast chilaquiles. It's so nice to have fresh made tortillas that don't crack when I want to make taquitos or enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Excellent reviews! Appreciate cultural input. My next cooking tool will be a tortilla press. t:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I must have used the wrong corn flour because this did not work for me at all.The dough was kneaded fine and shaped but it was the texture of shortbread.I will try again with another flour product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katikins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
These turned out great! For those who don't have a press, I used the bottom of a pot to flatten out balls of dough. With a little elbow grease, they turned out pretty great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I'm so proud of myself! I just bought an 8" cast iron Imusa-brand tortilla press from Amazon (about $23) and it just arrived. I was so afraid my tortillas would be a disaster, but guess what! I'll never buy corn tortillas again! I only made enough for 4 (1/2 c. masa harina, 1/3 c. water, and a pinch of salt.) My "golf-balls") made 5" tortillas, and I devoured them. I didn't even have time to try out my new tortilla warmer! Next time, I'll try for larger tortillas. I used a 1-gal. Ziploc freezer bag, cut in two, but I think a 1-qt. size would have been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States