Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great recipe, easy I added 2 T coconut oil and a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
these are the best.... took a couple time's to get them perfect but have it down thank you so much for sharing will pass this one on.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
These were yummy! I did add salt though. easy! it was fun to make them. actually made for dinner and again for a mexican breakfast the next morning! You do need to adjust the water until the dough is the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIDOESLOANS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Using the Maseca brand corn flour (not an easy find in France!) I followed the recipe as is except for the addition of a bit of salt. I don't have a tortilla press and found just using my hands and pressing the dough onto a piece of plastic wrap worked great. The plastic wrap was used so I could transfer them from the counter to the pan. If I found that the dough was breaking, I just sealed the cracks with some water on my fingers as I used my hand to press the dough balls into their final tortilla shape. I used my nonstick crepe pan, since I don't have a cast iron pan, to fry them. When done, I transferred them to a plate, covered that plate with another plate flipped upside down, and added a slightly damp paper towel to keep them pliable and warm. I have made them twice and both times they've come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
These taste just like the tortillas my Honduran neighbor used to make. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
very easy and good, made tostados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is my first time trying this recipe. I did use a tortilla press with parchment paper ( it's a little better quality than wax paper) and I let the dough ball sit for more that an hour. It worked like charm, no sticking, no problems just delicious tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I don't particularly enjoy making tortillas - in a home where we make nearly everything from scratch, it's just one more cooking chore in the bag. However, good luck finding non-gmo corn tortillas, so I had to go with homemade, otherwise I just wasn't going to use corn tortillas. This was a little bland, I would definitely try salt next time. Made homemade taquitos with them right off the griddle, and every last one cracked, even while they were warm and covered with a towel. My proportions and cook method could've been off, as I'm only used to making flour tortillas at this point. However, for my purposes, I think in the future I'll just use the raw dough, put in my fillings, and pan fry in a little coconut oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
That easy? I'm buying a tortilla press, because I won't buy store-bought any more! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
These were great! Much better than store bought! I don't have a press, so I did as another reviewer suggested and used a plastic freezer bag cut in half. Worked really well. I did add about a 1/4 tsp. salt and skipped the 30 min. rest part. They still turned out good, I won't be buying any soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States