Corn Tortilla Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Mmmmm! Delish! Viva cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I love the "crust"! I thought that the tortillas might get lost and mushy in the recipe but they didn't, they just bulked up. I will definitely make this again but next time I'll add onions and some extra chili powder. Some tips to make it even healthier, I used 3/4 cup light cool whip instead of a half cup whipping cream and couldn't even taste the difference, I also used a stronger tasting jack cheese, reduced fat sausage and light cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This was great! Love the corn tortilla crust. Didn't think the cottage cheese added anything--will make it without cottage cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dea
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was certainly Fun in our mouths!! Wow-what a great idea for utilizing one of our staples, corn tortilla's-we call them our "cornies". I made some slight variations, I used 1 full pound of sausage, 7 "cornies" instead of 5, sub'd Jalepeno Jack cheese for Monterey, eliminated the whipping cream and cottage cheese and used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/4 2% milk. I didn't have any green chili's on hand, so I cut up 2 fresh jalepeno peppers and cooked them with the sausage, also added onions to that mixture. (Yum!) I decided to bake it directly in our 12" Cast Iron Skillet, and topped it with tomato slices and sliced green onions. More for the visual than anything. We loved the way it looked, I immediately snapped a picture of it! A dollop of sour cream with a splash of your favorite hot sauce, definitely to become a family favorite. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This is really a great dish! It looks really nice as well. It would be great for company for breakfast or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I had bought 2 dozen enormous organic eggs and I have been looking for savory dishes in which to use them. I found this and was very easy to make and turned out wonderfully. Although I did make changes...we're not big on pork so I replaced that with black beans, I also took the advice of other reviewers and replaces the canned chilies with a 1/2 of a fresh one which I cooked with the onions (as another reviewer suggested)and I didn't have cottage cheese so I replaced that with sour cream. I also added a green bell pepper. Other than that everything else was observed. So, it's true my version strayed from the original quite a bit. But the eggs were there and the tortilla crust, which by the way we really liked. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This was simple and delicious. My husband even had the leftovers for breakfast!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was excellent!!! It was a great change from tacos or burritos. My only alterations were I used fresh steamed jalapenos instead of green peppers, only had 5 eggs, and I really like cilantro so I mixed it in as well as used as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was great! I had never made quiche before, so I wasn't sure how well this would turn out. But It was fabulous. I used flour tortillas instead of corn, primarily because that's what I had, but I've also ruined somethings with corn tortillas. Instead of pork sausage, I threw in some turkey sausage, which worked great. Like some of the other reviewers, I used sourcream and milk. I also sauted onions and garlic with the sausage, and threw in some cumin. for some extra color, I chopped some red and yellow peppers and put them in after pouring the eggs in. I served it with sour cream and sliced avacado. This will definately be a repeat recipe. In fact, I think I'll make it for my family when I go home for thanksgiving (though not on thanksgiving as I'm still full from breakfast and it's 5:00 pm!) Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I had to use what I had on hand so I did make some changes, but it turned out fantastic. That's why I liked this recipe, you can make so many variations. I did use 7 tortillas instead of 5 and I sprayed the bottom of my glass pie plate with canola oil as well as each tortilla (just slightly). I used 4 slices of canadian bacon, diced. I sauteed 1/2 onion and 1/2 bell pepper in olive oil and then added the ham for a couple of minutes. I used 5 eggs instead of 6, ricotta cheese (2 tbsp.) instead of cottage cheese, half-n-half instead of cream, chipotle peppers (2-diced) instead of green chiles. I added a bit of cumin as well as chili powder. I put my round pie crust protector over the top to protect the edges of the tortillas. Mine only took 35min. to fully cook instead of 45. I let it rest for 10min. before cutting into it. I added a dollop of sour cream to each slice. My husband raved about it and I loved it too! This one is a keeper! Thanks for such a great recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States