Corn Tortilla Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dea
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was certainly Fun in our mouths!! Wow-what a great idea for utilizing one of our staples, corn tortilla's-we call them our "cornies". I made some slight variations, I used 1 full pound of sausage, 7 "cornies" instead of 5, sub'd Jalepeno Jack cheese for Monterey, eliminated the whipping cream and cottage cheese and used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/4 2% milk. I didn't have any green chili's on hand, so I cut up 2 fresh jalepeno peppers and cooked them with the sausage, also added onions to that mixture. (Yum!) I decided to bake it directly in our 12" Cast Iron Skillet, and topped it with tomato slices and sliced green onions. More for the visual than anything. We loved the way it looked, I immediately snapped a picture of it! A dollop of sour cream with a splash of your favorite hot sauce, definitely to become a family favorite. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Wow, this was really good. And it looked just like the picture. I took another reviewers advice and used sour cream instead of cottage cheese. And low fat milk instead of the whipping cream. It came out just fine. I also used plain ground pork instead of sausage because I couldn't find any at the store. I served this with sour cream and diced tomatoes. My husband and I loved it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This was pretty tasty. The the tortilla crust added an interesting flavor, but was really hard to cut because the tortillas had become very crunchy during cooking for some reason. The quiche was pretty much destroyed after my efforts to cut it into slices. I am glad I put mine in a deep dish pie plate, it think it would have run over in a smaller pan. It also took longer than the specified time before the center was set in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I had to use what I had on hand so I did make some changes, but it turned out fantastic. That's why I liked this recipe, you can make so many variations. I did use 7 tortillas instead of 5 and I sprayed the bottom of my glass pie plate with canola oil as well as each tortilla (just slightly). I used 4 slices of canadian bacon, diced. I sauteed 1/2 onion and 1/2 bell pepper in olive oil and then added the ham for a couple of minutes. I used 5 eggs instead of 6, ricotta cheese (2 tbsp.) instead of cottage cheese, half-n-half instead of cream, chipotle peppers (2-diced) instead of green chiles. I added a bit of cumin as well as chili powder. I put my round pie crust protector over the top to protect the edges of the tortillas. Mine only took 35min. to fully cook instead of 45. I let it rest for 10min. before cutting into it. I added a dollop of sour cream to each slice. My husband raved about it and I loved it too! This one is a keeper! Thanks for such a great recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Loved it!!! I was expecting it to be difficult to cut, but it wasn't and the wedges held their shape beautifully. I did do things differently, only because I didn't have everything listed. This is my end result... I used soy chorizo. Sauteed it with diced onion and bell pepper. I had a left over baked potato, I sliced it thin and fried the slices quickly in a bit of oil, salt and pepper. (My tortillas were a bit old, dry so I heated them up in a bit of oil in a hot frying pan, to soften them). I thought this was a great idea actually, it really helped the tortillas to mold to the shape of the pie plate. Assembling the pie... I laid in the tortillas to fit (I only needed 4), arranged the semi-fried, thin cut potatoe on top of the torts,but only on the bottom (first layer). Followed the rest of the directions. On top of the quiche I decoratively arranged thin slices of pickled jalepenos, and thinly sliced tomatoes alterating them. Came out looking beautiful. Put a little grated parmesan cheese and fresh chopped cilranto on top before serving. A dollap of sour cream and/or salsa too if you like. While we were devouring it and my husband saying I had to rate this 5 stars. We were really enjoying the cilranto flavor with it, thinking a lite cilranto sour cream sauce would be awesome on it. Fantastic. Absolutely will be doing this again. I husband is not a breakfast eater, and I am always trying to make him eat. He said today I could make this for him everyday for breakfast. What
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeggyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was great! I had never made quiche before, so I wasn't sure how well this would turn out. But It was fabulous. I used flour tortillas instead of corn, primarily because that's what I had, but I've also ruined somethings with corn tortillas. Instead of pork sausage, I threw in some turkey sausage, which worked great. Like some of the other reviewers, I used sourcream and milk. I also sauted onions and garlic with the sausage, and threw in some cumin. for some extra color, I chopped some red and yellow peppers and put them in after pouring the eggs in. I served it with sour cream and sliced avacado. This will definately be a repeat recipe. In fact, I think I'll make it for my family when I go home for thanksgiving (though not on thanksgiving as I'm still full from breakfast and it's 5:00 pm!) Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
My family really liked this. We did add extra chilies and more onion than the recipe called for. The only problem we had was the corn tortillas along the edges browned a lot faster and almost burnt before the quiche was done. We had to wrap them in aluminum foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
We made this recipe this morning for brunch. I was looking for a recipe for a quiche that would also be ok for my mom to eat who has celiac disease. It was not only wonderful tasting to all of us but was so easy and effortless to make. I used the suggestions and changed to sour cream, and I used evaporated milk. I also added onions to the sausage, used smoked sweet paprika instead of chili powder (had run out), and added sun dried tomatoes to the top before baking. It was awesome. I love the crunch of the tortilla. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I had bought 2 dozen enormous organic eggs and I have been looking for savory dishes in which to use them. I found this and was very easy to make and turned out wonderfully. Although I did make changes...we're not big on pork so I replaced that with black beans, I also took the advice of other reviewers and replaces the canned chilies with a 1/2 of a fresh one which I cooked with the onions (as another reviewer suggested)and I didn't have cottage cheese so I replaced that with sour cream. I also added a green bell pepper. Other than that everything else was observed. So, it's true my version strayed from the original quite a bit. But the eggs were there and the tortilla crust, which by the way we really liked. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Tortillas are great and easy twist to traditional pie crust. Used flour torts, reg. cottage cheese, plain ground pork, and only 5 eggs. Added queso blanco. Kids scraped away the chiles - stinkers! But the adults loved it. Hubby thought it was only for dinner - I called it Mexican pie. I ate it for all three meals of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States