Corn Tortilla Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Fantastic recipe! i only made small changes that others recommended (1/2 cup sour cream for the cottage cheese, added a little cumin to the egg mix). So delicious! My husband raved!! No problems at all cutting it, the tortillas soaked up some of the liquid during cooking and it was a snap to get out of the pan. Had a little left over (i don't know how!) but just polished it off for lunch. I will be making this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Really good! Even my kids ate it! I used evaporated milk instead of cream & sour cream in place of cottage cheese. I browned the sausage with chopped onion & minced garlic, and added about 1/2 tsp. salt & pepper to the egg mixture. I also added about 1/4 cup chopped up green onion to the egg mixture. I also added a little cumin too. I didn't have green chilies but I had green chili enchilada sauce so I added about 2/3 can of that & it tasted awesome! It cooked beautifully & smelled really good! I liked this recipe because I could modify it to what ingredients I had on hand. We ate it for dinner but it would be great for any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Easy and tasty recipe. Personal additions or omissions are simple if you use your cooking sense. I used chorizo and roasted hatch chiles on my first round and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vombatus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I think this recipe made up great by using individual tortillas and letting everyone have their own individual little quiche. Someone made the comment it was hard to cut and this solved that problem. I also beat the egg whites til stiff and then added them to the egg mixture to make it fluffier and light. I love recipes that help me use up the left over veggies I have left in the fridge for breakfast or brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I love this recipe and have eaten it for every meal. I make it without sausage and use tomatoes instead. I also use milk instead of cream, leave out the cottage cheese and add paprika and cumin. The tortilla crust is fantastic and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Delish, but strange to eat for breakfast! I deviated from the recipe, so if that bothers you, stop reading now:) I used leftover taco meat(ground beef) in place of the sausage, no extra spices, & sour cream in place of the cottage cheese. I ended up using 1 less egg because it filled my deep dish pie to the max. It took about 20-25 extra minutes to cook, as the middle was still very soupy-I just covered the outside edges w/foil & it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Loved it!!! I was expecting it to be difficult to cut, but it wasn't and the wedges held their shape beautifully. I did do things differently, only because I didn't have everything listed. This is my end result... I used soy chorizo. Sauteed it with diced onion and bell pepper. I had a left over baked potato, I sliced it thin and fried the slices quickly in a bit of oil, salt and pepper. (My tortillas were a bit old, dry so I heated them up in a bit of oil in a hot frying pan, to soften them). I thought this was a great idea actually, it really helped the tortillas to mold to the shape of the pie plate. Assembling the pie... I laid in the tortillas to fit (I only needed 4), arranged the semi-fried, thin cut potatoe on top of the torts,but only on the bottom (first layer). Followed the rest of the directions. On top of the quiche I decoratively arranged thin slices of pickled jalepenos, and thinly sliced tomatoes alterating them. Came out looking beautiful. Put a little grated parmesan cheese and fresh chopped cilranto on top before serving. A dollap of sour cream and/or salsa too if you like. While we were devouring it and my husband saying I had to rate this 5 stars. We were really enjoying the cilranto flavor with it, thinking a lite cilranto sour cream sauce would be awesome on it. Fantastic. Absolutely will be doing this again. I husband is not a breakfast eater, and I am always trying to make him eat. He said today I could make this for him everyday for breakfast. What
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeggyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by JJRsMomma
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
As is, it's very bland so it gets a 3. After jazzing it up with seasoning/spices it's fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
We made this today for brunch. It was very good. We used turkey sausage and ricotta cheese because that was what we had on hand. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardrossan, Ayrshire, Scotland, U.K.
Living In: Lakeland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
We made this recipe this morning for brunch. I was looking for a recipe for a quiche that would also be ok for my mom to eat who has celiac disease. It was not only wonderful tasting to all of us but was so easy and effortless to make. I used the suggestions and changed to sour cream, and I used evaporated milk. I also added onions to the sausage, used smoked sweet paprika instead of chili powder (had run out), and added sun dried tomatoes to the top before baking. It was awesome. I love the crunch of the tortilla. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States