Corn Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I don't have the patience to fry tortillas. I just fire up the double ovens, spray the tortillas with butter flavored Pam (on both sides) and put them in the oven, turning once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
415 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
These are great--to make them healthier, I sprayed them with butter-flavored cooking spray and baked them at 425 until they started to brown--wonderful crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I BAKED THESE INSTEAD OF FRYING...LOW FAT AND TASTY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
I put these chips in my deep fryer and they turned out nicely. Not my favorite tortilla chip, but pretty darn good. I used two different corn tortillas... one had been in the fridge for a few days and the other I bought just today. I found that the older tortillas came out better... they were thinner and tasted more like store bought chips. The fresher ones turned out harder than the older ones, although they were the same brand. I prefer the older ones. Just a side note!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe! I cut the tortillas with a pizza cutter which made it easy and gave the chips a uniform shape. I seasoned them with a mix of salt, cumin and chili powder. I've also baked them instead of frying - sprayed them with Pam and used the same seasonings then baked at 350 for 8 minutes flipped them and baked them for another 7 minutes. These are fabulous served warm with homemade salsa and guacamole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I'm not sure if it is a recipe, but I loved the instructions! As someone who is not SO familiar with cooking, it was nice to check out "All Recipes.com" and find even the most simple of solutions. I baked, rather than fried and they were delicious!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Svensson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This is fine and dandy, I do this all the time. Is this really a recipe or common sense? Kind of like a peanut butter sandwich. I like the idea of spraying them with cooking spray and baking them. I will try that next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
I sprayed the chips with an oil mister and dusted them with Lawry's spicy seasoned salt. They were tasty, but took MUCH longer than the expected 5 mins. I would guess it took 20 mins. Definitely a good recipe for leftover corn tortillas. We had them with albondigas soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
I served these chips with guacamole, and they were so tasty. I used a thermometer to keep the oil at 375 degrees while they were cooking. At this temp, the chips only took 30 seconds each side, one minute total. I cooked them in batches that kept them from overlapping too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I noticed one post said that older tortillas made better chips. This is because the older tortillas will have dried out a little bit. I used to work at a fast-food place where we made fresh tortillas and fresh-fried tortilla chips and served them with all kinds of toppings and fillings. We didn't use the fresh made tortillas for our chips because the water content is too high. I would definitely suggest using older tortillas, or letting the tortillas sit out between a couple of paper towels for half an hour before frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States