Corn Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I've tried these baked and fried and they're great either way. If you bake them, they'll probably be soft the next day, but just toss them back in the oven to toast them back up. We don't live in the U.S. and can't get tortillas here, so these were especially yummy. Probably if we lived in the States, I would just buy chips at the store, but these are great - very Mexican restaurant-tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Very good. I used them to top chicken tortila soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOR THE LOVE OF FOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
So simple to prepare; you'll think you're at a local Mexican restaurant. Try them with a little fresh lime squeezed on top or cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Took reviewer Breeze's advice and baked them and they turned out well. Honestly for the price and the trouble I am just going to rely on Tostito from now on. Don't get me wrong these are really good, but with a 1 yr. old I just don't have the time (or the patience) to do this. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
It's a recipe to me; who knows whether there was some magic ingredient or step if you've never made it before? I snipped my tortilla with scissors and plopped them in the hot oil and voila! Next time I'll try making nachos with them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I make these all the time for my family, everyone really enjoys them! Added with guacamole and oooh yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
I put these chips in my deep fryer and they turned out nicely. Not my favorite tortilla chip, but pretty darn good. I used two different corn tortillas... one had been in the fridge for a few days and the other I bought just today. I found that the older tortillas came out better... they were thinner and tasted more like store bought chips. The fresher ones turned out harder than the older ones, although they were the same brand. I prefer the older ones. Just a side note!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Like someone already said, this isn't really a recipe as much as it is instructions - but they still taste great. I'm not the best cook but I do believe that home made always tastes the best. Tortilla chips are easy to make but if you fry them, be prepared for a huge mess like it is with frying anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Pretty good. I cut the tortillas in fourths instead and deep fried them. Remember that the end result will depend a lot in the quality of the tortillas you get. If you are not completely satisfied you can always try another brand. I like the fact that you can put as much or as little salt as you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Kale vs. Potato Chips on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes compare chips (and more!) on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States