Corn Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
REALLY GOOD! I did bake them though... I brushed them with oil and baked for 11-12 minutes at 400. Didn't even have to turn them. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I have been doing this for a few years...they are easy and so good, kids LOVE them. We also began experimenting with different flavors like cinnamon sugar, garlic, or favorite seasoning salts. They are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
wow this wasss good. Because I wasnted to test it out, I used 4 tortillas and sprinkled seasoning salt, garlic salt and garlic powder on my batches. this was the perfect thing to pop in my mouth and went along with my veggie quesadilla. Thanks for the recipe I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicago Cook Gurl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
These chips have a restaurant flavor, not a "store bought" flavor, which I prefer (I fried them). The concept is really simple and so is the work, I just cut the tortiallas with a pizza cutter, fry about 10 at a time for about 20 to 30 seconds on each side, scoop them out and pat them off really well with paper towels. The corn tortillas that I buy sometimes bubble when I fry them and the tortilla separates or cracks really easily, so I just make sure to keep a slotted spoon nearby to smash down on the air bubbles for a few seconds. Salt them while they are still warm, but I think the chips taste better if they sit for a day sealed in a container or in a bowl with plastic wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjm1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Excellent. A little less than a minute in the deep fryer, until they were lightly brown. I salted them fresh out of the fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I have been doing this for years - both with corn and flour tortillas. My family loves these so when I'm making something they aren't crazy about, I just make some of these and it makes the whole meal better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I used corn tortillas with the spray Pam & oven toast method. It took more like 15 minutes, with a flip in the middle, and they're very crunchy! (Probably because they're thick to start with). I'll certainly do this again as it's a great way to get rid of excess tortillas and they make a nice extra addition to tortilla soup/taco soup. Thanks! EDIT: 7/7/10: I used the frying method this time, on a whim. Worked great! Approximately 1.5 minutes per side did the trick for me but I didn't temp my oil, just guesstimated :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
omg, this was so easy! I was in a pinch as i was out of chips and this came to my rescue. Used my pizza cutter to cut the tortilla and fried them, took all of 10 minutes...thx so much!! tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I used my fry daddy and flour tortillas, used seasoned salt mildly after I pulled them out of the fryer. How is this not a recipe? I woudln't know how to cook chips, quite honestly. This was awesome, and buy "baked chips" if you want healthy, these are yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States