Corn Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I did the baking thing. Cut each tortilla into six wedges, sprinkled with sea salt and baked at 375 (350 in most other ovens) about 5 minutes. Crunchy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Chip are very tasty.. Instead of salt, I seasoned mine with Tony Chacheres for a little heat. They are so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexhon
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Based on the feedback, I decided to give baking a try. Yummy and healthy! I baked some old corn tortillas (cut in to chip size wedgest) at 400 degrees for 10 minutes. Prior to baking, I sprayed olive oil spray on them and seasoned them liberally with salt, pepper, onion powder, chili powder. Surprisingly, they were crispy like chips. To reheat, just pop into a paper bag in the microwave for 15 minute increments until heated to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Apparently spicing along with the salts, add Ranch packet mix, Paprika and Garlic Powder will create a Cool Ranch chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. BliSs
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These were really good. I baked the first batch after reading some of the reviews and they came out super good. I fried a second batch and followed up by baking them...they were even better. I know baking is a lot healthier but frying them first tastes so much better. Thanks for sharing I'll be making these a lot more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. BliSs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Like others, I've been doing this for many years and there is simply no comparison between homemade and bagged chips. In my opinion, if you've taken the time to impress your guests with your homemade salsa and guacamole, it's criminal to offer bagged chips. Be careful when salting, it's best to taste them with the salsa you're serving before adding salt. If you make them ahead of time, just heat them in a warm oven before serving, they'll be super crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I make chips like this ALL the time, This is the ONLY way to make homemade chips, taco shells or tostadas. It's cheaper and more convenient. I also make taco salad shells using a metal ladle and flour tortillas in the deep fryer. ALL delicious to include corn tortillas and white corn tortillas! (yes it is common sence per another review but beginner cooks just might not know how to make this, I think it's a great add to AR just for this reason alone). Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rehders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I know another reviewer said this was just common sense but honestly, I never thought of using corn tortillas for this purpose. Last month I was at a friends house and they made tacos by frying corn tortillas in half. It was so delicious (and so different, I always make my tacos with flour tortillas - technically a burrito I guess)..Fast forward to tonight kids and I were wanting nachos but I did not want to load 4 kids up just to go get some tortilla chips...then I thought "hmm..." and googled to make sure there was no fancy trick required for tortilla chips. There isn't and so I made these and they were delicious and really makes nachos even cheaper to make. I used older corn tortillas also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
5 Star would be for the baked version, been doing it for years. Started with the frying and switched. Easier, healthier and less clean up. Brush with oil, put a seasoned spice blend on and bake at 350 about 6-8 minutes each side depending on stove's oven temp range.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Perfect chips! Like them even better than the name brand chips!! YUM!! Now I just need to figure out how to keep large batches of them from getting stale as they can be rather labor intensive when making corn tortillas from scratch for a family of 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States