Corn Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Must read notes... The oil will decrease in temp for every batch so make sure to allow it to heat back up before the next batch. If it's too hot the chips will burn quickly. If it's not hot enough or you haven't left the chips in long enough they will be rubbery when serving. After adding the tortillas wait for the bubbles in the oil to subside to almost nothing and I have perfect chips every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
These were really great! I opted to bake instead of fry and my family loved them- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
So simple, and so tasty. These taste like the chips served at certain Mexican restaurants. Delicious with queso or salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
These are great and super fast and easy! Use Canola Oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Loved them warm. You can reheat in the oven if they get soggy to crisp up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Agreeing with many reviews, this is more instructions than a recipe...but homemade tortilla chips are wonderful. Just a thought for those thinking to use cinnamon & sugar, or honey, or any other sweet topping.....try using flour tortillas. After living in AZ & TX for 12 years, I've learned fried flour tortillas work better for more dessert/sweet chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I noticed one post said that older tortillas made better chips. This is because the older tortillas will have dried out a little bit. I used to work at a fast-food place where we made fresh tortillas and fresh-fried tortilla chips and served them with all kinds of toppings and fillings. We didn't use the fresh made tortillas for our chips because the water content is too high. I would definitely suggest using older tortillas, or letting the tortillas sit out between a couple of paper towels for half an hour before frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I make tortillas at least 3 times a week and chips fairly frequently, so here are my tips to help you out: (1) If you want to make chips from homemade tortillas, you need to be sure to press the dough VERY thin - as thin as possible - before cooking them. A tortilla that is thick & moist will not crisp up when frying it. It's perfectly acceptable to use store-bought tortillas if you're not able to do this. (2) Place a stack of tortillas on a cutting board, slice them in half, place one half on top of the other, and slice in thirds. (3) I personally don't use a thermometer to test the temperature of the oil; slightly below medium-high works fine. A good way to check is by placing one tortilla in it and see if it sizzles, in which case it is properly heated. (4) The first batch always turns out funky. (5) Remove the chips from the oil as soon as they're light golden - not dark golden - don't let them burn. (6) I personally don't salt my chips. Store in air-tight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I am rating the baking version of this recipe as I have never tried deep frying the chips. My alterations are as follows: I stack and cut the corn tortillas in 6 wedges and arrange them on a non-stick baking sheet. Then I spritz unsweetened lime juice over them. Next comes a spray of Olive Oil Pam right over the top. Lastly, I lightly salt them. Then into the oven they go at 350 for 20 minutes. I rarely buy tortilla chips anymore as they are full of salt, preservatives and fat. These are much healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skylittle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
OMG...I will never buy tortilla chips again! I love these and you can season however your heart desires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States