Corn Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This is a great chip recipe when made exactly as it is written! I don't understand why so many people post a rating when they don't even follow this most basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe! I cut the tortillas with a pizza cutter which made it easy and gave the chips a uniform shape. I seasoned them with a mix of salt, cumin and chili powder. I've also baked them instead of frying - sprayed them with Pam and used the same seasonings then baked at 350 for 8 minutes flipped them and baked them for another 7 minutes. These are fabulous served warm with homemade salsa and guacamole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I baked these instead of frying. I sprayed with Pam. They tasted just like a homemade tortilla chip should. Then I sprayed another batch and put some seasoned salt and they tasted like a commercial brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
the kids love them, we sprinkled some shredded cheddar and jack cheese on them while they were still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I had a ton of corn tortillas to use up. So I decided to make tortilla chips. I brushed both sides with oil, cut up in triangles and seasoned with sea salt and a bit of cayenne pepper. Baked them at 425 for about 15 mins. If you want crispier chips, then broil them for about 5 mins after baking. They are of course better and more authentic tasting fried, but that's time consuming and messy. These made great nachos! I also use whole corn tortillas and make tostado shells out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I had some leftover corn tortillas that were not used with my enchiladas...and did not want them to go to waste. I cut them into eighths, sprayed 'em with olive oil, salted and baked! Very easy and delicious. I will be making this over and over again! This is tons healthier than a bag of chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
So much easier to just go buy a bag of tortillas....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Washington, USA
Living In: Clinton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Used sea salt - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I'm more for healthier eating. I baked these at the recommend 425 degrees F. until crisp. I have always hated throwing away the last of my tortillas. Now I have my 2 1/2 and 5 year old use a pizza cutter and make chips as a snack for themselves. Thanks for posting this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is FANTASTIC. I know some people say it isn't a recipe, it is an idea, but I think its a great idea! I used super low carb, low calorie wraps, and it worked great. I baked one batch and fried the other in Canola Oil. The baked batch was terrible (probably because of the type of tortilla I was using), but the fried batch was great. Even fried these are still much healthier than store-bought chips b/c you can use low calorie low carb kind. Thanks for the great idea/recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States