Corn Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I did two batches of these, one fried and one baked. Sure, one way is much healthier but the texture didn't even compare. The fried chips were so light and crunchy and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
The time in the oven needs to be exact according to the recipe. I used a tall mister/ sprayer bottle from a craft store. It resides in the 'fridge' door. The spices are combined in a "salt shaker" for even distribution. I use two large baking pans and in less than an hour I have a bag's worth done for less than 1/4 of the cost. At cayenne pepper if you dare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This is a great chip recipe when made exactly as it is written! I don't understand why so many people post a rating when they don't even follow this most basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe! I cut the tortillas with a pizza cutter which made it easy and gave the chips a uniform shape. I seasoned them with a mix of salt, cumin and chili powder. I've also baked them instead of frying - sprayed them with Pam and used the same seasonings then baked at 350 for 8 minutes flipped them and baked them for another 7 minutes. These are fabulous served warm with homemade salsa and guacamole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I baked these instead of frying. I sprayed with Pam. They tasted just like a homemade tortilla chip should. Then I sprayed another batch and put some seasoned salt and they tasted like a commercial brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
the kids love them, we sprinkled some shredded cheddar and jack cheese on them while they were still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I had a ton of corn tortillas to use up. So I decided to make tortilla chips. I brushed both sides with oil, cut up in triangles and seasoned with sea salt and a bit of cayenne pepper. Baked them at 425 for about 15 mins. If you want crispier chips, then broil them for about 5 mins after baking. They are of course better and more authentic tasting fried, but that's time consuming and messy. These made great nachos! I also use whole corn tortillas and make tostado shells out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I had some leftover corn tortillas that were not used with my enchiladas...and did not want them to go to waste. I cut them into eighths, sprayed 'em with olive oil, salted and baked! Very easy and delicious. I will be making this over and over again! This is tons healthier than a bag of chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
So much easier to just go buy a bag of tortillas....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Washington, USA
Living In: Clinton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Used sea salt - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States