Corn Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Monitor carefully, the tortillas cook quickly. I found that the chips fry up nicely after about 30 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This is definitely a handy trick to know, but I would say the 'creator' of this recipe has only fried them and simply guessed at the oven cook time. I chose to bake mine to make them healthier, so I brushed them with olive oil, lightly salted and baked them for about 20min at 370 degrees until they were nice and crunchy. I realize that the different moisture content in fresh vs older tortillas will alter the baking time, but there is no way that they could be done at 350 in 5 min unless they had already been sitting on the counter, on a plate for a day or two before you made them into chips. Next time, I will start the baking time at probably 18-20 min and then check them often to make sure they don't brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Going to have to try this again. Can't remember if we liked them better with flour tortillas or corn, and it has been a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I used the baking method and flour tortillas. Excellent! Want to try again with corn tortillas as recipe states. Definitely used lots of oil though(I baked because it was less messy, not because I wanted these to be low fat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Yeah I figured this would be how you make em. Better to be sure so thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
So easy and they came out great! My husband was eating each batch as I took them out. Will definitely be doing these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
These were great! I wouldn't buy corn chips anymore! These were much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I make these all the time very simple and easy. Hint: For those that THINK you shouldn't need a recipe for these, there are some people out that have never done this before so somethings are helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I did the baking thing. Cut each tortilla into six wedges, sprinkled with sea salt and baked at 375 (350 in most other ovens) about 5 minutes. Crunchy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Chip are very tasty.. Instead of salt, I seasoned mine with Tony Chacheres for a little heat. They are so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexhon
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States