Corn, Sweet Onion, and Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Yes, rating my own recipe, but mostly to let people know they need to drain the canned corn well and squeeze the liquid from the tomatoes before they chop them. Otherwise, the mixture gets a little soupy as it sits. Also, use the plain, unsweetened and unflavored rice vinegar. The combination of the rice vinegar with the lime juice creates a cleaner, crisper taste. And for fun, taste and to make it even prettier, don't be afraid to add a little of the lime zest. I also have found that the "Niblets" type of canned corn seems to work best in this recipe. Either that or very lightly blanched fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twila Davis Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This is a great warm weather recipe! I'd only suggest that you be careful with the vinegar; I was preparing it in the middle of the night and not paying close attention. I added the full 1/3 cup, rather than adding it 'to taste' ... it was really too much (for my taste). I will be serving this salad again in the next few weeks and will be more careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaziMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Good tasting and very pretty/colorful salad. I put some romaine lettuce in mine, along with some cucumber. I subbed white vinegar for the rice, but to give it more zest next time, might try adding red wine vinegar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This turned out GREAT! I used fresh corn off-the-cob, subbed parsley for cilantro, and white vinegar for the rice vinegar. I made such a large quantity that I had leftovers for a few days, but it was the first thing everybody went for on kitchen raids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Very good and very simple. Since I'm the only one in the house who likes cilantro, I just used the corn, tomatoes and sweet onions. I blended enough white vinegar with sugar and water, and it was delicious. Thank you for a recipe that takes less than 10 minutes and is so refreshing on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This recipe was perfect for a summer bbq and everyone loved it. Very easy and tasty. I didn't have rice vinegar so i used apple cider vinegar and added some sugar to taste. I used purple onions and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emmae
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is a very fresh tasting salad, with no oil, which I enjoy. The onion was a little overpowering, but that is definitely something I can just cut back on for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Excellent salad for summer, especially for BBQ's. I used fresh corn, blanched lightly and Santa Sweets tomatoes, diced. Red onion went especially well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was delicious! I think next time I might add a teaspoon of sugar to cut the acidity a bit! Great with grilled foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
It's a really nice summer-salad recipe; if you are a cilantro fan like me. My friends either love it or hate it. The salad gets a little watery after it sits. I think it's the canned corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States