Corn, Sweet Onion, and Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
It was okay, just too much onion, wow the recipe makes way to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathymcfadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This was Great! I added a little sugar (as suggested) and some small shrimp since I was serving it as a main dish salad, either way it is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
i cut this way down because i needed a little something fresh to go with dinner. its good. its different. i added hot sauce to mine i liked it a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Excellent salad for summer, especially for BBQ's. I used fresh corn, blanched lightly and Santa Sweets tomatoes, diced. Red onion went especially well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
The recipe as it is written is a bit too strong on the onion and cilantro. I made this again using half the onion, some chopped seedless cucumber and a quarter of the cilantro and it was wonderful! The cucumber adds a mild flavor to it that cuts the harshness of the onion and cilantro. Would make again with my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cahlm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is a favorite in my house. My girlfriend and children always come back for seconds. The only suggestion I make is that you go easy on the vinegar and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DexterStory

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My family absolutely loves this salad. I first had it at a friend's BBQ and asked for the recipe. I used frozen sweet corn from Costco (not cooked, just defrosted), and white onion and it needed no sugar at all. I see that some people used different vinegars, but I like the rice vinegar because it has a mellower taste. As has been stated by others, it tastes better if it sits for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This recipe was perfect for a summer bbq and everyone loved it. Very easy and tasty. I didn't have rice vinegar so i used apple cider vinegar and added some sugar to taste. I used purple onions and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emmae
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is a very fresh tasting salad, with no oil, which I enjoy. The onion was a little overpowering, but that is definitely something I can just cut back on for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This is very easy and very tasty. Make sure to cut the cilantro small. I tried to be lazy with it and left some pretty big chunks, and that didn't work out so well. Over all, though, the salad tasted excellent! UPDATE - the second, third, fourth, ad infinitum that I've made this, I've put the cilantro and the onion in the food processor. Much more evenly distributed. Delivious. We prefer to eat this as a salsa rather than as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States