Corn, Sweet Onion, and Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This recipe was perfect for a summer bbq and everyone loved it. Very easy and tasty. I didn't have rice vinegar so i used apple cider vinegar and added some sugar to taste. I used purple onions and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emmae
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is a very fresh tasting salad, with no oil, which I enjoy. The onion was a little overpowering, but that is definitely something I can just cut back on for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This is very easy and very tasty. Make sure to cut the cilantro small. I tried to be lazy with it and left some pretty big chunks, and that didn't work out so well. Over all, though, the salad tasted excellent! UPDATE - the second, third, fourth, ad infinitum that I've made this, I've put the cilantro and the onion in the food processor. Much more evenly distributed. Delivious. We prefer to eat this as a salsa rather than as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This salad is amazing...and super easy. I made it in less then 10 minutes. It also tastes even better after it has been chilled and the veggies have a chance to marinate a bit in the vinegar and cilantro. Very refreshing and could be used as a base for salsa or quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Great for parties. My friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Navasota, Texas, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
We gobbled this up. I didn't have sweet onion so I used a bit less of yellow onion and diced it fairly small. I don't keep rice vinegar around, so I used a bit of red wine vinegar and put in a pinch of sugar. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Very tasty! Neat addition to a meal instead of a side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Haynes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This is a great warm weather recipe! I'd only suggest that you be careful with the vinegar; I was preparing it in the middle of the night and not paying close attention. I added the full 1/3 cup, rather than adding it 'to taste' ... it was really too much (for my taste). I will be serving this salad again in the next few weeks and will be more careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaziMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Yes, rating my own recipe, but mostly to let people know they need to drain the canned corn well and squeeze the liquid from the tomatoes before they chop them. Otherwise, the mixture gets a little soupy as it sits. Also, use the plain, unsweetened and unflavored rice vinegar. The combination of the rice vinegar with the lime juice creates a cleaner, crisper taste. And for fun, taste and to make it even prettier, don't be afraid to add a little of the lime zest. I also have found that the "Niblets" type of canned corn seems to work best in this recipe. Either that or very lightly blanched fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twila Davis Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This recipe was AWESOME! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States