Corn-Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I figured I'd try it with a cornucopia of different veggies. Couple things i tried that I found enhanced the natural flavors. Add garlic to the stuffing. I also found it needed a little more salt. Then again, I'm not exactly a prime example of health...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coaldale, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Good, but needed more zest. Next time I'll try using Corn with Jalapenos from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made the recipe as it is, and in the end was glad that I didn't add any herbs or spice: the gentle taste is quite balanced to my opinion, corn and butter go very well together, and the tomato 'counterpoint' is more than enough. It makes a great side dish that is colourful, but won't steal the limelight from the main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petrovna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Great idea! We got a ton of tomatoes from a relative and I was looking for something creative to do with them... I baked them in ramekins instead of a muffin pan so they could just be left in there; it's a good thing because they ended up with a lot of extra liquid and filling! Overall they were pretty tasty, though next time I may add a few more seasonings or maybe some cheddar cheese after they're done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capabayan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
These were just okay for us. I added some garlic and onion powders, but we still found these pretty bland. I think cumin would be a nice addition. Honestly, I think we would have liked these better if I hadn't baked them and just left them cold. Thanks for sharing with us! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I loved it, it had great presentation, I added a few extra seasonings (as usual) and sprinkled cheese on top. It definately helped to let the tomatoes "drain" after cleaning them out and the I liked the muffin pan idea, it helped for me anyway! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Cvek Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This wasn't fantastic. I scaled it back to two servings, and I had way too much corn mixture to fit into my tomatoes. Maybe my tomatoes were too small, but any larger and they would not have fit into the muffin cups. As it was, I had to squeeze my spoon in to get one of them out, and ended up ripping it to shreds in the process. While baking, I heard a sizzling noise in my oven. When I opened the door, I realized that the juices were running over the pan. My kitchen was half smoke filled by the time I got a sheet pan underneath them. This is a great idea, and I love the idea of using the pulp of the tomato in the dish instead of throwing it out, but the flavor is lacking (and I even added some parsley) and there's way too much liquid. Also, I'm not sure that the muffin pan is the way to go with these. They're too difficult to remove. I might make it again, though, as my issues are all easy fixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This was really good. I changed a couple of things. I used fresh corn instead of canned and I think that really made the difference. Also, instead of using muffin cups you can cut a thin slice off the bottom of each tomato so they sit flat. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is a REALLY great side dish - I served them with chicken enchiladas and spanish rice. Based on some of the reviews, I did the following: *after scooping insides, I salted the tomato boat and turned upside down (salt draws the liquid out and helps give flavor at the same time!). *I mixed the corn with tomato insides, eliminated the butter, and added salt, pepper, chili powder, and cayenne pepper. The spices worked SO great with the dish - and helped tie it in with enchiladas. *When spooning into the tomato boats, I kept mashing it down and draining allowing the excess liquid to come out. If you let the mixture sit for a little while with the salt added, it will help draw out the liquid. These were flavorful, healthy, and really colorful! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is a good, solid basic if you need a side veggie dish and you have the ingredients on hand. I added oregano for extra flavor but it still didn't have the 'wow' factor I was hoping for. When hallowing out the tomatoes leave the sides rather think. Thinning them out too much will make a mushy mess. Also, I don't have a muffin pan so placing it on a baking tray worked fine, as long as you pack the corn mixture into the hallowed tomato - this gives it weight and prevents it from toppling over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARREI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States