Corn-Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is a REALLY great side dish - I served them with chicken enchiladas and spanish rice. Based on some of the reviews, I did the following: *after scooping insides, I salted the tomato boat and turned upside down (salt draws the liquid out and helps give flavor at the same time!). *I mixed the corn with tomato insides, eliminated the butter, and added salt, pepper, chili powder, and cayenne pepper. The spices worked SO great with the dish - and helped tie it in with enchiladas. *When spooning into the tomato boats, I kept mashing it down and draining allowing the excess liquid to come out. If you let the mixture sit for a little while with the salt added, it will help draw out the liquid. These were flavorful, healthy, and really colorful! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I used miniature muffin pans and set the tomatoes on each muffin hole. This kept the tomatoes in place and allowed for easy removal (since the tomatoes were too large to fit inside the muffin holes). This also allowed extra juice to drain into the muffin cavity. The presentation was beautiful and the tomatoes were snatched up quickly at a neighborhood picnic. The flavor was bland. Next time I will add herbs or something to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
We love this recipe!!!! One way to get rid of some of the watery-ness is to drain some of the liquid from the inside of the tomatoes. When scooping out the inside of the tomato, make sure to flip them upside down and let some of the juice run out. Very good and very healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made the recipe as it is, and in the end was glad that I didn't add any herbs or spice: the gentle taste is quite balanced to my opinion, corn and butter go very well together, and the tomato 'counterpoint' is more than enough. It makes a great side dish that is colourful, but won't steal the limelight from the main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petrovna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I loved it, it had great presentation, I added a few extra seasonings (as usual) and sprinkled cheese on top. It definately helped to let the tomatoes "drain" after cleaning them out and the I liked the muffin pan idea, it helped for me anyway! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This was really good. I changed a couple of things. I used fresh corn instead of canned and I think that really made the difference. Also, instead of using muffin cups you can cut a thin slice off the bottom of each tomato so they sit flat. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Good, but needed more zest. Next time I'll try using Corn with Jalapenos from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
These were just okay for us. I added some garlic and onion powders, but we still found these pretty bland. I think cumin would be a nice addition. Honestly, I think we would have liked these better if I hadn't baked them and just left them cold. Thanks for sharing with us! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is a good, solid basic if you need a side veggie dish and you have the ingredients on hand. I added oregano for extra flavor but it still didn't have the 'wow' factor I was hoping for. When hallowing out the tomatoes leave the sides rather think. Thinning them out too much will make a mushy mess. Also, I don't have a muffin pan so placing it on a baking tray worked fine, as long as you pack the corn mixture into the hallowed tomato - this gives it weight and prevents it from toppling over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARREI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I figured I'd try it with a cornucopia of different veggies. Couple things i tried that I found enhanced the natural flavors. Add garlic to the stuffing. I also found it needed a little more salt. Then again, I'm not exactly a prime example of health...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coaldale, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States