Corn-Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
I followed the directions exactly, but my tomatoes turned out very *wet*. Very watery and juicy requiring my husband, at one point, to drain the juice off of his plate. I liked the flavor, the texture and the color but would be interested in any tip to avoid that watery result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONHALEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
We love this recipe!!!! One way to get rid of some of the watery-ness is to drain some of the liquid from the inside of the tomatoes. When scooping out the inside of the tomato, make sure to flip them upside down and let some of the juice run out. Very good and very healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Excellent side dish. Easy to make, and flavorful! Good advice on draining the excess liquid from the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Nice presentation but it was lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
These were bland, I did strain the juice so they were not too watery. Probobly will not make these agian, if I do I will add garlic and parsley...something to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Made some of these for dinner. Turned out to be a big watery mess. I left the tomatoes in at the right temp for as long as recipe instructed, but they were mushy and I ended up just dumping the muffin tin upside down onto a plate and eating it like a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swindon, Wiltshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I used miniature muffin pans and set the tomatoes on each muffin hole. This kept the tomatoes in place and allowed for easy removal (since the tomatoes were too large to fit inside the muffin holes). This also allowed extra juice to drain into the muffin cavity. The presentation was beautiful and the tomatoes were snatched up quickly at a neighborhood picnic. The flavor was bland. Next time I will add herbs or something to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is a good, solid basic if you need a side veggie dish and you have the ingredients on hand. I added oregano for extra flavor but it still didn't have the 'wow' factor I was hoping for. When hallowing out the tomatoes leave the sides rather think. Thinning them out too much will make a mushy mess. Also, I don't have a muffin pan so placing it on a baking tray worked fine, as long as you pack the corn mixture into the hallowed tomato - this gives it weight and prevents it from toppling over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARREI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is a REALLY great side dish - I served them with chicken enchiladas and spanish rice. Based on some of the reviews, I did the following: *after scooping insides, I salted the tomato boat and turned upside down (salt draws the liquid out and helps give flavor at the same time!). *I mixed the corn with tomato insides, eliminated the butter, and added salt, pepper, chili powder, and cayenne pepper. The spices worked SO great with the dish - and helped tie it in with enchiladas. *When spooning into the tomato boats, I kept mashing it down and draining allowing the excess liquid to come out. If you let the mixture sit for a little while with the salt added, it will help draw out the liquid. These were flavorful, healthy, and really colorful! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This was really good. I changed a couple of things. I used fresh corn instead of canned and I think that really made the difference. Also, instead of using muffin cups you can cut a thin slice off the bottom of each tomato so they sit flat. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States