Corn, Sausage and Pepper Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Excellent recipe. Great on a cold winter's night. Used a half cup of heavy cream and found it to be very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
The whole family loved this. There are also a million substitutions that you could make. This recipe will be put into the monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
To reduce the sodium content I have used low sodium chicken broth and sometimes even eliminated the kielbasa and this soup still tastes and looks great! It's colorful and yummy and tastes good leftover (I've never tried freezing it though). I like the amount of cream (not too heavy) and if I want a creamier texture I puree more of the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
The whole family loved this!!! I stuck to the basic recipe, with just a couple changes. I didn't have any green bell peppers in the fridge, so I substituted a poblano pepper. The slightly spicy flavor of the poblano mixed nicely with the cumin, corn, and garlic. I also used frozen diced hash brown potatoes instead of the red potatoes to save some prep/cooking time (something I do with most recipes that call for potatoes). The biggest change I made, though, was substituting evaporated skim milk instead of the milk and cream so that it's much lower in fat. It was still thick and creamy, thanks to the pureed corn. Oh, and (recipe author, please correct me if I'm wrong), I think there was a typo on the amount of sausage--I think it's supposed to be 14 oz, not 4 oz. The packs of kielbasa from the store only come in 14 oz packs, so 4 oz would be just a tiny bit. I used the whole 14 oz and it seemed to be the perfect amount of sausage for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe! We're vegetarian so we omit the sausage and use veggie broth in place of the chicken broth. I also add 2 bay leaves, use one cup of half and half in place of the milk and cream and add 1 cup of grated pepper jack cheese. It's marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking4two

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I love this soup! I just made a double batch of this soup as well as the Newport Clamp Chowder I found on this site and both received rave reviews from my family. We were out camping and I didn't have a way to puree some of the corn so I just put all the corn in whole. It worked just fine. I had read a review that said they thought the 4oz of kielbasa was a typo and that is should be 14oz. I agree. I used 28oz for my double batch and it was a good amount. Will be making this again probably very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This corn chowder is delicious. My family makes me cook it once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This was very easy and it tasted great! The whole family loved it! I did add 1 can of cream corn and an extra cup of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This chowder was a tasty change from the usual potato soup I make. I am planning on making this soup again, although I will probably add the green pepper later in the cooking stage to prevent it from overcooking and losing its nice green coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I'm giving this 5 stars because my husband absolutely loved it. I thought it was pretty good. Very easy to make. I used frozen corn and 8 oz. kielbasa. Next time I will add some additional seasoning to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States