Corn, Sausage and Pepper Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Great! Next time I will follow the other reviews and add some spices and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I give this three stars as is but four with changes. I made this as is and found it was missing something. I doubled the white pepper and cumin and added some fresh cilantro(also prettier due to)some black pepper and paprika. I will try this again with spicy sausage and a mix of spicy pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Very good! Impressed with the blend of flavors and all the different colors. I used several different colors of bell peppers and changed a few minor things after reading other reviews. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This is an awesome soup! I took the advice of some other reviewers and used a pablano pepper instead of the bell peppers, and evaporated skim milk instead of the milk/cream. I also ended up adding some season salt at the end becasue it seemed like it was missing something. The soup was a little too thin for my liking so I did a few pulses with my immersion blender and that did the job perfectly. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyndseyLu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Knox, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
LOVED IT LOVED IT.... I used table cream instead of heavy cream and next time I will probably just use more milk to cut down calories (I don't think it will affect the taste too much) Also, I didn't have enough corn so I filled in the remainder with some frozen mixed veggies and in the process added more greens to the meal. Never hurts! Also, I added a little bit of Louisiana Gold hot sauce to the mix and when we served it we put tabasco in too. Really gave it a great kick. We'll be making this often for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I love this, my friends love this, and my family loves this........I use kielbasa and smoked sausage and brown it in the skillet first.... I also add a little cumin and fresh cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALCUTTA21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I made this recipe almost exactly and it was delicious. It was a little sweet from the corns and onions, but I threw in a handful of cheddar cheese and that cut into the sweetness a little bit. Also, like the prior person suggested, I used a whole package of keilbasa (16 oz.). What I didn't know and understand until I actually sliced up the kielbasa was that it was already cooked - I was expected more of an Italian sausage consistency, but it was firm. It made it a lot easier! Great hearty chowder that my 3 and 5 year old gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Good flavor, but I made some minor changes. I used a can of cream corn and half a bag of frozen whole kernel corn. Also skipped the red peppers because I didn't have any. The sauce was kinda thin. I din't have cornstarch so I added some flour to thicken it up a little. Was fairly easy and quick. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I had hoped that this chowder would be a unique fun experience. But instead it was a bland experience. Even with the addition of onion, garlic, cumin, and peppers. This was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Photo by Lauryl
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Excellent! I had to do a lot of substitutes, and I held the potatoes so I could pour the soup over crisp tater tots, used only 1 1/4 cup of broth, black pepper, 1 can of corn with 1 can of creamstyle corn, 2/3 cup of milk and no cream, and smoked turkey kielbasa. I read the reviews and added corn starch and bits of cheddar and jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States