Corn, Sausage and Pepper Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is really good on a rainy night with french bread and a salad. I used 2 1/2 oz of evaporated milk instead of cream and a bay leaf like others suggested. I also browned the kielbasa before adding it to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombii17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very tasty - even better the next day. For the most part, I followed the recipe except... In step 1 - sauteed the veggies in a skillet, transferred to pot. In step 2 - browned kielbasa in same skillet, transferred to pot. Mopped up excess grease from skillet with paper towel then deglazed with chicken broth to release the fond then added to pot. I used a bag of diced potatoes which seemed to take a long time to soften. Next time I will use red potatoes the recipe calls for. I also found I needed more chicken broth. I will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOFTCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cedar Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This was really good, and smelled great the whole time it was cooking. I didn't have half and half so I just used milk. Very good, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I made this as written, with turkey kielbasa. It was really salty (my fault), but I guess I just don't like the sausage in soup genre. I would have liked it very much with no kielbasa at all, but I needed to rate this truthfully so I remember not to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoffDNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was perfect for the cold dreary day today. I did as some other reviewers recommended and doubled the cumin and pepper, though I used black pepper instead of white. I also used the entire package of kielbasa. No cream in the house, but evaporated milk worked fine. Served with a few drops of hot sauce, and between the two of us, almost finished off the whole pot. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was really good and very hearty! After reading the reviews, I decided to double the cumin & white pepper. I'm glad I did; the spices were just right. I also added a couple of minced jalapenos with the peppers and onions. Additionally, I replaced the milk & cream with fat free half and half. I inadvertently allowed the finished product to come to a boil causing the half and half to curdle. I remedied the problem by adding a cornstarch slurry. We had this on a night when the temperature reached 12 here in the Fort Worth area. It was a perfect meal for a night like that! I'm going to make it again soon with bacon instead of sausage. Lots and lots of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Very Good! I made it with 1 lb of mild italian sausage, which I cooked, browned and sliced. I believe it would be equally good with deli ham. I will definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Colborne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I added some celery, extra cumin, and a chopped red jalapeno for extra heat and it turned out good. I also did not puree any of the corn but I don't like my chowder or soups real thick. This has a nice blend of flavors and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Could be that I'm sick, but this is an excellent "sick" soup and great for the upcoming winter. Instead of heavy cream, I used 2/3 cup milk and then cornstarch to thicken the soup. Also used garlic powder instead of cloves, and sweet Italian sausage instead of kielbasa, which I de-skinned and crumbled into the soup. Thick, hearty, and perfect! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
LOVE this one! It's a great way to use up all those peppers from the garden at the end of the season and it freezes wonderfully. It makes a much better quick lunch than Lean Cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States