Corn, Sausage and Pepper Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Wow! This was great. I used twice the amount of sausage (half a package of kielbasa), and I browned it before adding. I also added water as I cooked it (about a cup and a half overall), since the broth boiled away fairly quickly. I actually added a couple of teaspoons of salt since I was afraid the potatoes would absorb it all. When I make it again (and I will!) I'll add a bit less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This soup was a big hit with us, especially my 2 y/o and 3 y/o. Made a few changes, of course - sautéed the kielbasa along with the onion, peppers and garlic then set it aside (LOVE the flavor of the browned, crispy casing. Used a can of creamed corn plus a can of regular corn kernels, and also threw in a sachet of jamon seasoning for a bit of extra porky flavor. Turned out great! Served it with warm crusty bread for a hearty Fall lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
It was pretty good. I felt like it needed more seasoning, maybe more cumin or some celery or something. But the taste was good. My kids (all under 8) liked it except for the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Tried it and my boyfriend loved it! He is usually the one that is picky about flavor and what not. It was a little on the thin side, so I may try to thicken it up a little next time. But over all pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Great, quick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I played with this. Only red bell pepper, added in a cup of leftover black beans, 1 can each of corn and creamed corn. Instead of milk or cream I put immersion blender over a few potato pieces and blended. Topped with a little pepper jack and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
We really loved this! I played w/the amounts of some of the ingredients & added chopped carrots & celery(& used polish sausage) because I'm trying to empty my fridge, plus I was feeding 20 people. Unbelievably good! We loved the cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Crazy good! The whole family loved it. AA+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This is excellent! My hubby & I could eat this once a week. I make a big batch for lunches & leftovers. I have also added a can of diced green chiles to kick it up a notch and is very good. I use a can of creamed corn and a can of regular corn and don't put anything in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Really delicious! I used a can of evaporated milk in place of the milk and heavy cream. For the corn, I used 2 cans and pureed one can. I also added celery and an extra cup of water because 2 cups of broth did not cover all the poatoes. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States