Corn, Sausage and Pepper Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I played with this. Only red bell pepper, added in a cup of leftover black beans, 1 can each of corn and creamed corn. Instead of milk or cream I put immersion blender over a few potato pieces and blended. Topped with a little pepper jack and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
We really loved this! I played w/the amounts of some of the ingredients & added chopped carrots & celery(& used polish sausage) because I'm trying to empty my fridge, plus I was feeding 20 people. Unbelievably good! We loved the cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Crazy good! The whole family loved it. AA+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This is excellent! My hubby & I could eat this once a week. I make a big batch for lunches & leftovers. I have also added a can of diced green chiles to kick it up a notch and is very good. I use a can of creamed corn and a can of regular corn and don't put anything in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Really delicious! I used a can of evaporated milk in place of the milk and heavy cream. For the corn, I used 2 cans and pureed one can. I also added celery and an extra cup of water because 2 cups of broth did not cover all the poatoes. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This review reflects substantial changes so bypass it if wanting to follow the recipe as written. Looked through 59 reviews at time of this one, and identified changes others had made and then threw in one or two new ones. Used a 15-1/4 ounce can whole kernel sweet corn and a 14-3/4 ounce can cream style sweet corn, and placed those directly in soup without pureeing the corn. Subbed 6 oz. evaporated milk for 1/3 cup milk and 1/3 cup heavy cream. Used 14 ounce hardwood smoked turkey kielbasa (4 ounces shown in recipe is likely an error). Added 2 fresh jalapeno peppers, thinly sliced, 5 stalks chopped celery, and 3 chopped carrots to cook with the onion mixture. In the 2nd step, added 1/2 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning, and 1/2 cup fresh, finely chopped parsley after stirring in the corn, kielbasa, and milk. The jalapenos gave this soup some heat, but was perfect for us. We super enjoyed this soup, and will be among our favorites. Thank you MOLSON7 for sharing, and we couldn’t have done it without you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Very good! I used turkey kielbasa and used the full link....14oz I think. The recipe asked for 4...that just sounded like very little. I did add one more can of chicken broth as it was quite thick. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written and thought it was excellent! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was an awesome dish.. I'm a single professional and this made enough to take for lunch a few days. I added a bit more cream and let it sit longer then recomended. I also added an extra tsp of cumin AND white pepper. I think next time I will add some cayene for some extra kick. Using an orange or yellow bell pepper also gives it a very bright look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I liked this. I rendered the sausage (I think this should be 14 ounces) first to get some of the grease out and completely forgot to buy peppers so I had to leave them out. I couldn't even taste the tiny bit of cumin so instead of adding more I added some Old Bay seasoning as another reviewer suggested. Also didn't bother with pureeing the corn and it was still thick enough for me. A keeper that will be made again. Thank you Molson7.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrissy E.
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This was an awesome meal! Even my picky hubby and kids enjoyed it! I modified it (based on what I had on hand)...I used canned creamy corn and regular corn drained. I substituted can milk for the milk and heavy cream, used a yellow pepper, pan fried the eckrich sausage in olive oil and added about 5 squirts of Louisiana Hot Sauce! This will definitely be made at least once a month! Oh, and next time I will add corn starch to make it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States