Corn, Sausage and Pepper Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was perfect for the cold dreary day today. I did as some other reviewers recommended and doubled the cumin and pepper, though I used black pepper instead of white. I also used the entire package of kielbasa. No cream in the house, but evaporated milk worked fine. Served with a few drops of hot sauce, and between the two of us, almost finished off the whole pot. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was really good and very hearty! After reading the reviews, I decided to double the cumin & white pepper. I'm glad I did; the spices were just right. I also added a couple of minced jalapenos with the peppers and onions. Additionally, I replaced the milk & cream with fat free half and half. I inadvertently allowed the finished product to come to a boil causing the half and half to curdle. I remedied the problem by adding a cornstarch slurry. We had this on a night when the temperature reached 12 here in the Fort Worth area. It was a perfect meal for a night like that! I'm going to make it again soon with bacon instead of sausage. Lots and lots of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Very Good! I made it with 1 lb of mild italian sausage, which I cooked, browned and sliced. I believe it would be equally good with deli ham. I will definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Colborne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I added some celery, extra cumin, and a chopped red jalapeno for extra heat and it turned out good. I also did not puree any of the corn but I don't like my chowder or soups real thick. This has a nice blend of flavors and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Could be that I'm sick, but this is an excellent "sick" soup and great for the upcoming winter. Instead of heavy cream, I used 2/3 cup milk and then cornstarch to thicken the soup. Also used garlic powder instead of cloves, and sweet Italian sausage instead of kielbasa, which I de-skinned and crumbled into the soup. Thick, hearty, and perfect! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
LOVE this one! It's a great way to use up all those peppers from the garden at the end of the season and it freezes wonderfully. It makes a much better quick lunch than Lean Cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Great! Next time I will follow the other reviews and add some spices and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I give this three stars as is but four with changes. I made this as is and found it was missing something. I doubled the white pepper and cumin and added some fresh cilantro(also prettier due to)some black pepper and paprika. I will try this again with spicy sausage and a mix of spicy pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Very good! Impressed with the blend of flavors and all the different colors. I used several different colors of bell peppers and changed a few minor things after reading other reviews. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This is an awesome soup! I took the advice of some other reviewers and used a pablano pepper instead of the bell peppers, and evaporated skim milk instead of the milk/cream. I also ended up adding some season salt at the end becasue it seemed like it was missing something. The soup was a little too thin for my liking so I did a few pulses with my immersion blender and that did the job perfectly. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyndseyLu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Knox, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States