Corn On The Cob (Easy Cleaning and Shucking) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Don't cook for 4 minutes! One min., then flip over. One more minute cooked. This method work great! Perfectly cooked corn and no mess. Being from Indiana, I am pretty anal about corn and have learned plenty. Back in the day, we always tried to find white Silver Queen & boiled it for 8 minutes in sugared water. Because of the way hybrid corn has changed, you only need to cook it for a few minutes now &, alas, what was perfection in Silver Queen has been bred away. And if you ever see Olathe corn for sale, GRAB IT! It's raised in Colorado and is THE best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Good method. When I use it I remove the outer layer of husk (just any dirty parts, not the whole husk) and wrap the corn in a damp, very lightly damped, paper towel. 2 to 2 minutes and 15 seconds per side, depending on the size of the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Tried it as a sceptic and was pleasantly surprised when it worked!! Yay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
True-not a single thread of silk! Our corn came out a little chewy instead of crunchy(I know some people prefer it that way-we like crunch) but I was making 4 ears at a time & added the extra 2 min, as suggested by the submitter. Next time, I'll try just 1 ear and see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I'll never cook corn any other way ever again! This is amazing and so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Didn't change anything! Worked great! 4 minutes per ear worked with my micro. Thanks for this! Makes my life much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Why can't I rate this a 10? My corn came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Woodliff Austin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hubert, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This changed my world! I never learned how to shuck a cob like this. On my very first try, I shucked a cob in less than 10 seconds, with nary a silk left behind. Now, I can't wait to use the fresh, seasonal corn for recipes, whereas, in the past I dreaded the prep. Thanks CCARR48!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
It seems that most everyone is over-cooking the corn. One ear of corn will be done after 2 minutes on high in the microwave. Add 1 minute for each additional ear. I have used this method and cooking times for several years and the corn comes out perfect everytime. Also, there is no need to turn the corn. I have no reason to do corn any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I've been cooking corn this way for at least two years. I like my corn tender, so I never microwave it longer than two minutes per ear. It is so easy to clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Sweet and Easy Corn on the Cob

Quick and easy recipe for boiled corn.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States