Corn Nuggets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Can honestly say, not a fan. It is a little time consuming to have to freeze them for hours. I don't think I will be making them anytime soon. Going to try the corn fritters and maybe revamp the recipe on them with cornmeal and flour instead of all flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craziee4tigger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I added seasoned salt to the mixture and placed the cream corn mixture in ice trays (greased each individual one first) and placed in freezer. I added vanilla extract to the bread batter. And I used less milk, which makes the batter very thick. Use a spoon to dip frozen corn into batter and place in hot oil for frying. The option for the beer batter by one reviewer sounds like a great option. We loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
HELPFUL HINTS TO MAKE WORK! 1) do NOT make the batter. add the milk and eggs whites to one bowl and then mix the corn meal, flour, salt, and pepper in another. Dip in egg/milk then roll in cornmeal/flour. Make sure is completely coated 2) freeze for more than 3 hrs. We froze ours in greased ice cube trays all day. They are big nuggets, but it works. 3) the recipie itself is blan. We to some we added chedder cheese or cream cheese(or both) to the corn mixture before freezing. to the cornmeal/flour mixture we added bay seasoning, cajun seasoning, and even chinese 5 spice to some batches. Some combination eventually worked. But by itself is boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
i love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I thought this recipe was great. I used the advice of the sugar and added enough milk to get a consistency that looked right. The nuggets stayed together just fine once frozen. They spread out more into patties, so I cut them in half. The ice cube tray sounds like a great idea, too. They were just like the ones I've had in the south. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tbryant127
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
For my first attempt not a bad result, but you'd have to try this a few times before you got restaurant quality corn nuggets. I read all the bad reviews about the batter, so I used a simple beer batter instead. (1/2 cup beer, 1 cup Bisquick, 1 egg, 1/2 tsp salt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Once I figured out how to get the batter and corn to work together, I fried them, but to my dismay, the nuggets were blah to say the least; no flavor what-so-ever. I wasted time and ingredients on this recipe. Guess I should have read the reviews first; lesson learned. Same issues with this one as almost everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I had a lot of the same problems as other people mentioned here. After playing with this recipe I figured out how to make it work. my changes were super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I don't know why this recipe got so many negative reviews. I made this tonight and it was delicious. I did make some slight modification to it. 2 TSP of milk I have to assume was a misprint. I added enough so the batter looked like waffle batter. I added one Tbs of sugar. This is important, I let the batter sit for 1/2 hour before I used it. If fried up perfectly. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I have a lot of questions, First, why did the corn have to be in Liquid, was that suppose to be used in the recipe? The batter was way to thick. I feel that maybe something was left out or the measurements were not right. I used the whole egg and I added 4 more tablespoons of Milk. The batter was right to coat the frozen corn but had really no taste. I will continue to work on this recipe. I see a lot of people want this recipe to work....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Barilla® Pasta with Corn, Black Beans, & Avocado

Iowa inspires a simple pasta salad with corn, beans, avocado, and cotija cheese.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States