Corn Muffin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
The batter as the recipe is written is too thick. I had to thin it out with about an extra quarter cup of milk. Other than that, great and easy to make as long as you have the cornbread mix on hand. Edited on 7/23/08 - Tried the recipe with the blueberry muffin mix and it was awesomely light and fluffy. Didn't need to thin out the batter this time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as it was written and I thought it turned out fantastic. They turned out fluffy and full of flavor. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is Heather, the creator of this recipe. As a suggestion for others when using this recipe, I have substituted the corn muffin with apple cinnamon muffin mix, berrry muffin mix, and bannana nut muffin mix. That is actually my daughter's preferred way of eatting them. Any style muffin mix will do. I hope you all enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather duncan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Made for breakfast this early morn (I actually went to the store last week and bought corn muffin mix so I could try this recipe). My 9 year old said this recipe was a "4 1/2" (: which is high praise from him. I used the Jiffy corn muffin mix, which was 8.5 oz, not 7, so I reduced the flour a bit. I loved the submitter's suggestion of using other mixes...lends to alot of variety with this recipe! Can't wait to try other variations! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I made this recipe this morning for my boys. I did a double take when the recipe called for two TABLESPOONS of baking powder, so I changed it to two TEASPOONS. Other than that, this was a hit with my family. The batter wasn't too thick, it was perfect. I slathered the cakes with butter and honey and it was wonderful. Will definitely make again. And again. Cheap to make and great change from the typical pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Mmmm. These were really good. Definitely recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Well, these were certainly different. More of a cornbread in a pancake shape, than an actual pancake though. Hubby didn't like his and threw it out, I love cornbread so I ate mine, but they certainly weren't anything like what I call a pancake in flavor or texture anyway. They tended to crumble easily too. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was really good and super convienant. The EASY way to get your blueberry packcakes w/o all the hassel!! One pointer: I put in the muffin mix first, so all the blueberrys were concentrated in the bottom of the bowl. I would use a wooden spoon to bring them up. And remember, pancake batter should be a little lumpy!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I'd give this recipe NO stars if I could! I've never been so disappointed in a new recipe in my life. I could not use the batter. I couldn't even flip the pancakes. Complete waste of my time and money. HUGE disappointment!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizSlick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Delish! I used just 2 tsp of b. power instead of the tbsps. I also used the Jiffy mix which was more than 7 oz, but I evened it out by adding an extra 1/4 cup or so of milk. The pancakes were perfect and easy to make. I topped em off with some boysenberry jam and my boyfriend fell in love. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States