Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
For dinner last night, served two people. Came out just like the picture. Nice with maple syrup. There were just two left, and I lightly buttered them. Very nice. When I make corn fritters again, I'll increase the sugar to at least 2 teaspoons. But if I make clam fritters, I'll make as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
So yummy!!! The words of my children. I would have given them 5 stars however, I read through the comments and took some of the advice to use 1/4 cup of stugar and a little more salt than it stated. This made them perfect! If I had stuck to the original amounts I know we wouldn't have like them as well. I did use frozen corn because that's all I had. I didn't warm it and drain it any just stuck in frozen, mixed, added a touch more flour and then started frying. They were perfect. Fluffy and tender on the inside while being golden and crunchy on the outside. Next time I think I will lower the temp on the oil they did get a little too brown. This basic recipe I think could be so versatile from spices and veggies you add to make it savory, to adding fruit and more sugar for a delicious fried sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Definitely needs a lot more sugar, 1/4 or 1/3 cup even. I used creamed corn because that's what I had, and it worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I am adding chopped cooked shrimp and chopped cooked chicken, fresh garlic and fresh ginger to the batter! I will serve them with two types of sauce, cocktail & honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Kirbear
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Worked great. I recommend melting the shortening with the milk then tempering in the egg before adding to the dry. Mixture was perfect and held its form nicely. I would have preferred a sweeter fritter. Next time I will add a couple tsp. of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I used frozen organic corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is a great comfort food recipe. Try dusting the hot fritters with powdered sugar. It's a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
These were great. If you want desert, do like others and put a bunch of sugar in them on them and around them, but if you want a delicious side dish for some good southern cooking, these are the bomb. For breakfast, add more flour and baking powder, sugar and vanilla. Make flat patties and fry them in a pan. Syrup 'em up and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I used frozen corn instead of canned and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These were really good, however IF you like your fritters to be sweet, 1/4 teaspoon sugar is NOT hardly enough. I used 2 TBS of sugar and they were perfect for my taste preference. A helpful hint. If you would like your fritters more like a ball shape, chill the batter in the fridge for at least 30 minutes before cooking. ONE REVIEWER SAID THEY ARE MESSY TO MAKE, I DISAGREE. NOT MESSY TO MAKE AT ALL. These are simple and tasty. best of all most have all that is needed on hand (THESE ARE GREAT WITH POWDERED SUGAR SPRINKLED ON TOP ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States