Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Made enough for a family of 6 with dinner. Everyone liked them. I didnt really measure but I put in about a tablespoon of sugar and made half the batter as listed and then added jalepeno peppers to the second half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoflorida

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I tried it using fresh corn cut off the cob (it had been sitting in the fridge way too long). Seemed to work fine! I did add a bit more sugar to try to get the picky kid to eat it - and I used King Arthur "White Whole Wheat" flour. The biggest problem I had is that I don't have a deep fryer and I seem to have lost my instant read thermometer. The oil tasted just slightly off - so I suspect it was a bit old - but they still tasted good! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen Wessels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
These are so good! I put in 1 tb of sugar and used soy milk. I dusted with powdered sugar---delicious! I must remember to make these on hanuka!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Just made them. This was my first frying recipe so I was abit wary.THEY ARE DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Very good recipe. Like many others, I have my own preferences, but the changes I made were few: I used Bisquick, only because it's my go-to for pancakes, drop biscuits and things like fritters and potato pancakes. I also doubled the amount (2 c rather than 1). I added 2 tsp sugar, 2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, 1/4 tsp onion powder, 1/8 tsp garlic powder and I minced half a red jalapeno into it. Cooked til golden brown and served with ranch dressing. I think next time I'll give something like sweet chili sauce a try for a dip, and increase the jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avis
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This recipe was pretty good. I added additional sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. Next time, I will also add chopped onions, red peppers and jalapeños.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I really loved this recipe. I made two batches for my birthday barbecue yesterday. One batch I just doubled the sugar as others suggested, and used chopped apples that I canned two years ago. The apple fritters went over a hit! My second batch I wanted to best of both worlds - hush puppies and corn fritters - so I used a 50/50 blend of cornmeal and flour. I used slightly less than half a cup of cornmeal to half cup of flour, because my research says that 3/4cup of cornmeal substitutes for one cup of flour in recipes, so I eyeballed it. I just used frozen corn, thawed and drained, and the results were a huge success. Can't wait to try a variation with cornmeal, parm, and crab meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I love this recipe. I usually double it though and instead of adding the shortening I use melted butter and 1 14 oz can of creamed corn instead of the regular corn. Instead of doubling the amount of milk i used what the recipe called for and added about 1/4 cup more so total i used 3/4 cup of milk. I also add 1 tsp of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Added 3tsp of sugar, and let sit a few minutes before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States