Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
These are absolutely scrumptious! I did not use the amount of oil it called for so I fried one side then the other as opposed to deep frying. I drained on paper towels, added a little butter and then syrup! Omg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Renner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I'm from the great plains. These are just like I remember them as a child. Great with a little honey drizzled on them. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
These were so delicious! I had some leftover corn from last night's dinner, and hated to throw it away. So I went on this site and found this recipe. The only change I made was adding a little extra sugar as per another reviewer's suggestion. I can't wait to try these using apples and cinnamon. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
As other reviewers noted, I increased the salt to 1 tsp and increased the sugar to 4 tbsp, and probably put in a lot more corn than 12 ozs..I see the batter as simply a delivery system for that good sweet corn. And I didn't deep fry them, I pan fried them in about 1/8" oil in a ten inch cast iron skillet, flattened them out and flipping them over...makes an easy recipe even easier! They were still wonderful! The only thing is I did warm the corn up before I put them in the batter...I left the corn frozen last time I did this recipe (also pan-fried them) and they were a little underdone in the middle. These are not messy to make, and pan fying them is especially good for cast iron. Just one bowl and a few utensile to wash, and just wipe out the skillet...done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made these today and they are like soft pillows of sweet corny goodness! My family loved them so I am getting ready to try to make apple fritters for dessert! Wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle L. Miller Lomax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newton Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
For dinner last night, served two people. Came out just like the picture. Nice with maple syrup. There were just two left, and I lightly buttered them. Very nice. When I make corn fritters again, I'll increase the sugar to at least 2 teaspoons. But if I make clam fritters, I'll make as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
So yummy!!! The words of my children. I would have given them 5 stars however, I read through the comments and took some of the advice to use 1/4 cup of stugar and a little more salt than it stated. This made them perfect! If I had stuck to the original amounts I know we wouldn't have like them as well. I did use frozen corn because that's all I had. I didn't warm it and drain it any just stuck in frozen, mixed, added a touch more flour and then started frying. They were perfect. Fluffy and tender on the inside while being golden and crunchy on the outside. Next time I think I will lower the temp on the oil they did get a little too brown. This basic recipe I think could be so versatile from spices and veggies you add to make it savory, to adding fruit and more sugar for a delicious fried sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Definitely needs a lot more sugar, 1/4 or 1/3 cup even. I used creamed corn because that's what I had, and it worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I am adding chopped cooked shrimp and chopped cooked chicken, fresh garlic and fresh ginger to the batter! I will serve them with two types of sauce, cocktail & honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Kirbear
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Worked great. I recommend melting the shortening with the milk then tempering in the egg before adding to the dry. Mixture was perfect and held its form nicely. I would have preferred a sweeter fritter. Next time I will add a couple tsp. of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States