Corn Fritters Southern Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
My husband *loves* this recipe and requests it all the time. I usually half the recipe when it's just the two of us and use a quart-size freezer bag of locally grown corn that we freeze ourselves. I also add some kind of onion or leek too. And since we like these served with fresh tomatoes and bacon, I usually fry them up in bacon fat. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made these but was a bit disapointed. Not what I remember haveing down south. Maybe I did something wrong. Will try again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I reduced the eggs to 3 and added onion, garlic and a dash of cayenne pepper. These turned out light and crunchy. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was a let down....too bland and it had a spongy texture. I won't waste good fresh corn on this again. If you do choose make this at least make some kind of dip to go with and add some bell pepper or something. You'll be much happier!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Great recipe in which to use fresh sweet corn! I made this when the farmers were all selling corn out of the back of their pick-ups :) As is, it needs a little more flavor, so I added some onion powder, garlic powder, and a little cayenne pepper. We loved them with a little butter on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I have cooked this recipe and added a little more ingrdients. Bacon,Onion,Parsley,Peas,herbs,Garlic. The Kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This is the one - . This one brings back memories. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Yummy, I added a bit of pepper and a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I served these to my boyfriend as an appetizer; he was the one who rated 4 out of 5 stars. They seemed to be a little light and airy after frying, but he did say they were very good. I used canned corn instead of the corn off the cob. Thanks for a nice recipe Helene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States