Corn Fritters Canadian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Tasted great and was quick. Only suggestion would be to indicate that the whole kernel corn NOT be drained!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
For more flavor, don't use flour. Use 'self rising corn meal mix' and just omit your baking soda and salt. Do make sure to add some extra sugar to taste. 1-2 TBL. is perfect. You don't need a lot of oil for frying, if you have a good nonstick pan. These corn cakes went great with our white beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I tried this recently as a main dish-with sesame asparagus and potatoes-it was wonderful.I didn't use anything sweet like maple syrup with it-instead I made it more savory by adding caramelised onions to the batter.My entire family loved it.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
These were a 4.5, until we started dipping them in maple syrup, at which point they become a 10! They really are fast, easy, and delicious. I didn't even need any fat to cook them, they slid right out of my nonstick skillet. Also, the last review says not to drain the corn -- I drained mine, and they turned out OK, maybe they're just a little thinner with the liquid included, mine were a pancake-batter consistency. They're pretty bland if eaten plain, definitely use the butter or syrup. Great breakfast treat, or side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
These are the best! I make them all the time and the kids love them. When I have leftover corn, I use that instead of the canned stuff and add extra milk. Maple syrup or honey goes great with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was a very good recipe. I cook on a gas stove and the cakes came out very fluffy. I substituted regular milk with soy milk and used only 1/4 tspn salt and 1/4 tspn fresh ground pepper and I thought they came out just fine. To be extra decadent you can fry them in butter mixed with canola oil. These make for a hearty meal. I needed a salad on the side to balance them out...but was too lazy to make one admittedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Wow. I've been looking for a recipe like this for years. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I just made these for dinner (hoping they will make it to dinner!) and they are so good! The only thing different I did was to use 1 1/2 cups self rising flour and left out the baking powder and salt. I think 2 cups of flour would be way too thick. They are addicting and I will be making them often. Try them with some sour cream on top...yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
These are awesome. I would recommend adding a couple of tablespoons of sugar to them. Other than that, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I think we found a new Christmas tradition! I Used stone ground corn meal mix and DID add 2 tbs of sugar... I didn't have any cramed corn on hand so I just used a can of semi drained corn =-) SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States