Corn Fritters Canadian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Easy and tasty. The family liked these with a bit of butter maple syrup on top, like a pancake. I liked mine with just butter and a bit of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe! Thank you. I did however make these without egg. I had none in the house. I had no creamed corn so i took 2 cans of whole kernel corn and blended one can in the blender with the juice, then drained the other can. I also used bacon grease to fry them on my electric hot plate. Delicious!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coffee0ooYummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These weren't bad, perhaps it was just our tastebuds. They were really very bland. Halfway through the batch we added some sugar, but it didn't make alot of difference. Guess we prefer Southern Style(ie-fattening and deep fried!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
For more flavor, don't use flour. Use 'self rising corn meal mix' and just omit your baking soda and salt. Do make sure to add some extra sugar to taste. 1-2 TBL. is perfect. You don't need a lot of oil for frying, if you have a good nonstick pan. These corn cakes went great with our white beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I subbed an equivalent amount of my favorite pancake mix for the dry ingredients and egg to speed it up and it worked fabulously! Fast and delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
.....love corn fritters! These were very good - the only hassle I had was in using bacon fat over lard - smoked too much. As well, my "dollops" were too large and as a result, the fritters were not fully cooked inside the centers. Nevertheless - we enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Can't say as though I'm thrilled with this recipe--I even added 2 tbs sugar to the batter. Gotta agree with fellow reviewers when I say they were rather tasteless-even with maple syrup. Maybe they'll be better after sitting in the fridge overnight. Maybe with some chopped chilies added or some extra spices they'd be a little more exciting. But the kids loved them, if that means anything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
My only change was that I deep-fried them, dropping by rounded tablespoons into hot oil. Tasted great, perhaps a little doughy. I may try lightening up on the flour a bit next time, and add a tsp or so of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Was looking for a nice easy recipe which is what this is. I found them a little bland, I guess I like mine with a bit more corn taste. I reduce the flour, add a bit of paprika and sometimes some chopped up bacon. The great thing about this is you can go either savoury (add some cheese) or sweet (great with maple syrup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This was great. My husband loved them. I added to the recipe some sugar, onions, garlic and garden seasoning. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States