Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Awesome recipe, tastes just like the fair! I fried in my deep fryer at 375º for 3 to 4 minutes. Came out perfect without being greasy whatsoever! The only change I made was I omitted the pepper. Make sure to dry the hotdogs or roll them in cornstarch so the batter sticks. My batter was nice and thick and stuck well! Also, make sure you hold it in the oil for a few seconds before letting go. If you don't, it will sink to the bottom and stick. I was a bit worried about putting sugar in the batter, but it made it taste just like the carnival corndogs. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefGord
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I tried it for the first time. Getting the coating on evenly was a challenge. As my daughter commented "Dad, one of them looks more like a rat dog (shape) then a corn dog but they taste good". I believe getting the consistency of the batter is the key. Oh well, I'll keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was my first time making homemade corn dogs and it's a lot of fun and not as much trouble as I thought. The batter is delicious and tastes better than the frozen kind (I left out the pepper because I don't care too much for pepper in certain foods). I'm a vegetarian so it's been a long time since I had one at the fairgrounds, but my corn dogs made with Morningstar Farm veggie dogs came out perfectly and tasted like I remember them. Will definitely place this in my permanent recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was an easy recipe to throw together, everyone loved it. I was having a hard time getting the batter to stick to hotdogs, even after I coated them with flour, but persistence paid off, and they all turned out great. We ended up cutting the hotdogs into little bites (we called them chubs) and the kids enjoyed the treat! The leftover are going in the freezer for a quick afternoon snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hpfay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
These are just delicious!!! I used Hebrew Nationals and wow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davmasethshy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I made these for my boyfriend and he liked them so much better then the store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
very tasty! my kids approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
My husband and son love these. So much in fact, that a couple days after I first made them my husband went out and bought twice as much hotdogs so i can do some more. The only thing was that I omitted the pepper and dabbed the hotdog to get rid of moisture and rolled it in a lil bit of corn starch like the others said. I cant believe how easy it was. I seriously will not ever buy frozen corn dogs ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bebebubu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
These are great. Used the exact ingredient measurements, no alterations, allowed weiners to cool to room temp well rolled in corn starch and voila, perfect corndogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Great recipe, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 520) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States