Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I made these the other night. Big hit with the family. I followed advice of others and dried off hotdogs with paper towels. Cornmeal mix stuck to dogs just fine. I fried in a deep sauce pan, so I turned the dogs a few times at first so the breading would not slide off the top of the hot dogs that stuck out of the oil. Then I turned every 30 to 45 seconds until evenly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
The batter in a jar didn't work because it was so thick. I had to use a butter knife to spread the batter on. They burned in under a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Owen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
It's spot on. The review tips are helpful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Made the mistake of using medium grind cornmeal, so there was hard pieces in it. I tried using flour first on the hot dogs, like another user mentioned, but the batter slid right off. Without the flour on the hotdogs it stayed on a little better. With that said, and aside from the hard chunks, it turned out really yummy! I used Organic flour, hotdogs, sugar, milk and eggs, so this was much healthier than the frozen ones. I also added some honey to the mix, which was a nice addition. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because the batter doesn't stay very well on the hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Theer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Turned out great! Great advice with the used of flour and the cup for battering. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sara
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I added some oats it taste so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Loved this but we made 1 Sub, used 1 and a quarter cup buttermilk to replace the 1 cup of milk. IMO it is way better with the buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
An OK easy to use recipe but this does turn out far too sweet for our liking. I may try adding some smoked paprika or cayenne pepper to this to give it a real pep. Next time I do this I will drastically reduce the sugar or even remove it completely. To me the batter should be savoury not sweet; it just doesn't work with hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Just experimented as my son has been bugging me for corndogs and I didn't pick any up from the store. He loved them and now wants me to make these from now on. I cut my hot dogs in half and made mini-corndogs. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great! I placed the batter in the fridge for about 10 minutes. Batter seemed a little thick but it worked out great. No drippy messes like the others I have tried. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zales127

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States