Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe was very good did not put pepper in it and dipped the hot dogs in corn starch. family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great! Just like the ones I loved as a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoeFromWoodbridge
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Took the recipe and (x4) it. Placed in fridge overnight. Had to add a bit more milk in the morning and made over 60 corn dogs for a kids birthday party... People freaked. It was so pro and the taste was perfect. I used a butchers hotdog with no fillers, nitrates or additives and it was the hit of the party (until the ice cream truck I called showed up). Tips: • Get a oil thermometer - keep oil between 350 - 370 • I used my side burner on the BBQ with a huge pot - no smell of a carnival in the house • Get long skewers - easier to control • Get the jumbo Dogs and cut in half - the cook easier and are more manageable • Dry dogs with a paper towel and coat with corn starch and flour mixture and shake off access - batter sticks perfectly • Make batter COLD - it will coat perfectly • Use a LARGE TALL GLASS make dipping and coating simple and easy to control ALSO - flash freeze and then place into a ziplock bag for storage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I tried everything. The batter was too fluffy then mealy. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Omitted salt and pepper, otherwise made as stated. Great taste, was looking for a recipe which was not as over processed as store bought. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Great for Scout Camp! We used powdered egg & dry milk and premixed all the dry ingredients in a Zip Lock bag so all we had to do was add water and Wa-La! Hot oil temp is the key, not too hot, not too cold. The hit of camp food this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I substituted honey for the sugar and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robby Wisecup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
So yummy!!! I actually found that not rolling them in flour made the batter stick. The ones I rolled in flour caused the batter to slide off. I also dipped chunks of pepper jack cheese in the batter and fried them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
These were just what I was craving. I didn't roll the hot dogs in flour, but I did make sure they were nice and dry before I dipped them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Yup! I've made this recipe. The batter is ideal in thickness, texture and flavor. However, IMO, two important steps are missing. First, after inserting the sticks, thorough dry each dog with paper towels. Then roll of dust with plain white flour before dipping in the batter. Without these steps, the batter may sluf-off before or during frying. I've tried it both ways and the uniformity of the retained batter is much better with dry, floured dogs. An alternative is the semi-commercial idea of using pre-stuck, frozen dogs. Cooking will be lower and slower, but it works. And, for an easier, almost instant batter, see the Jiffy.com website recipe based on their corn muffin mix. Essentially the same batter, but easier to make. As simple as this product appears, getting the batter temperature and time 'just right,' will require some practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States