Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
These are awesome. Since the hot dogs are smooth, you need to roll them in flour first. This will help keep the batter on. I poured the batter in a mason jar (quart size) and dipped the hot dogs in the jar.It's alot easier than rolling them around. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1023 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
As a former carney, I LOVE these! The one thing I miss most about being a part of a traveling carnival company is the hand-dipped corn dogs. I have a couple of suggestions for achieving corn dog perfection: 1) Dry the hot dogs with a paper towel before dipping them in the batter. This way, you don't need to coat them with flour or anything before dipping. 2) Make sure your batter is ICE COLD. This will make it thicker and it will resist "melting" off into the oil before it firms up from frying. 3) Use regular Farmer John hot dogs...not the all-beef kind (that's what the carnival food wagons all use!). 4) Omit the black pepper from this recipe. It's not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
970 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Very yummy. I've found that putting the prepared batter in a drinking glass helps ease the process... it's the perfect size tool to batter a hot dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
608 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I loved that I could use good quality kosher hotdogs. You don't always know the quality of meat that are in those at the fair!! I precooked the hotdogs first in boiling water for 7 min. I then let the mixture and the hotdogs rest for 10 min. I coated them with corn starch and the mixture stuck very well. Also, make sure your oil is the perfect temp. 365 degrees was perfect for me. If it is too hot the outside will burn and the inside batter will be raw. If it is not hot enough the batter will slide off. I love these because they are crunchy on the outside. Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Wonderful recipe!!! Roll your hotdog in corn starch first. It will prevent your batter from slidding off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Quick and delicious! Make mini's by cutting the wieners first, and using the fry daddy. I may never buy frozen corn dogs again. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Tasted great! My husband was raving!!! Dry the dogs before coating and the batter sticks just fine. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
I was really surprised when I found out that I had everything to make homemade corndogs on hand. I substituted honey for the sugar and skipped the black pepper and they turned out great. I made some fresh lemonade to go with it. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Great recipe. They taste just like the ones at the fair! I had been searching for a recipe for these corn dogs for a long time and I finally found it. The batter is simple to make and delicious. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Great recipe! We all enjoyed it along with some homemade onion rings also on this site! I did have some trouble having the batter stay on, but I hadn't looked at previous reviews to see how to handle that and I'm sure I'll get it to work next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States