Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
this recipe is sooo awesome...can't beat a corndog!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
These are really good, but not as sweet as the Foster Farm Corn dogs so if you are looking for sweeter ones, I would add a bit of honey to the batter. I skipped the skewer cause my frying pan was to small and no one seemed to notice or care. These do not take much to to make at all and are well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
The batter was a bit thick so I thinned it with milk, but it tasted amazing! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Excellent recipe! My family LOVED them. In fact, they all said "no more store bought corn dogs". I read many of the reviews before I made them today. I made up my batter last night but I used 3 tablespoons of honey instead of the 1/4 cup of white sugar. Since we don't eat pork, I used chicken hot dogs & they were delicious. I did cook my hot dogs ahead of time (boiled them for approximately 7-9 minutes - basically before they plumped up/burst -don't boil too long!) I did use corn starch on the hot dogs as recommended so the batter would stick but in my opinion, as long as the hot dogs are dried off adequately, this is unnecessary with cold batter (also recommended) but feel free to use this method if you like. The best & most useful tips I took advantage of were to place the mixed batter in a cup (tall measuring cup for me) to dip the hot dogs in before frying (makes it so much easier, trust me (I tried the bowl method someone mentioned 1st, which is to place the dogs in the bowl holding the batter & let them sink. This does NOT work well w/cold batter. You end up having to push them down with a tool or your hands & it gets messy. Just spoon batter into a tall glass or measuring cup for dipping.) Lastly, the batter MUST BE COLD. It sticks better and it so much easier to handle. Since I made my batter the night before, it was nice & cold the next day already. If desired add a couple of tsp of cayenne pepper to your batter for spice (after you make the ones for the kids!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
My son wanted corn dogs. I was prepared to just buy the unhealthy frozen ones but couldn't find any! So I gave this a try. It came out great! I didn't have a deep fryer so I just used a big heavy saucepan. The only thing I'd do different is cut them in half so they'd fit in my pan better! Also I'll play around with different types of healthy hot dogs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen Wessels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
hard to get the dough and oil the right temp. might be my inexperience
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I loved these corndogs - tasted just like the ones you get at the fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Absolutely loved them! They had a nice crunch to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Hyne Burklund

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Very good recipe. I didn't have skewers so I cut the wieners in thirds. Drying them worked great before dipping. The only thing I did differently was I substituted 1 1/4 cups buttermilk for the regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
my first time makijg corn dogs and this recipe turned out great. I dried the hot dogs and refrigerated the batter - a combo that helped the batter stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States