Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Just made these for my 10, 8, and 6 year old for a themed "state fair lunch" paired with strawberry lemonade. All of the children loved them! I actually didn't have plain cornmeal so I used a cup of the jiffy cornbread mix and followed the rest of the ingredients and omitted the black pepper. I set the batter in the fridge in a mason jar and it started to rise quite a bit and almost overflowed the jar. I cut the hot dogs in half to make more kid friendly sized hot dogs and double dipped and fried at 350-375 for 3 minutes. They raved about them. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I have tried ALOT of corn dog recipes and this one by far is the BEST ever!! They put the ones you buy at fairs to shame. Well done!!! I will ONLY be using this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This so far is the best recipe I have found, but I did have to modify it immediately. First, it calls for 1 cup of milk. Batter was way to thick. So I had to add an additional 1/2 cup and then thru out the fry another tbsp every now and then to keep it easy to coat. I didn't have any white sugar so I substituted brown instead and liked it, altho next time I think I will try honey. Lastly instead of the salt it called for I used 1 full tsp of my homemade house seasoning for extra flavor. I also heated my hotdogs up but as another reviewer suggested I did make sure the outside was completely dry before dipping them. I didn't even need to use flour or cornstarch to make the batter stick. It coated easily and stayed on while frying. They were so good! Even my picky child who normally hates corndogs ate TWO! Thanks so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
These corn dogs was a little time consuming but easy to make once you got everything together. Thanks SUZZANNA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
At the suggestion of others, I did not add the pepper. They came out great! I made them today for lunch and my girls said they like these better than any they've every had! I will be making these for years to come! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Kids LOVED them! I refuse to buy them ones at Carnivals because of the outrageous prices. These keep them happy and me within my grocery budget. For about $10 we made 16 of them! I will be adding this to my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This recipe tastes just like the ones from the store! The hot dogs need to be dried and rolled in flour before dipping into the batter, and putting the batter in a jar is a great idea! Makes it so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
These were delicious - so glad I have this recipe for those days when you just have to have a corn dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
So much fun to do with the kids and the taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Fantastic!!!! Thank you for sharing - I've been wanting to be able to feed my kids corndogs, but I refuse to buy the gross ones from the store. LOVE this recipe!!! Note to self: don't use Bob's Red Mill Med. Grind Cornmeal, it's too gritty. Use Masa Harina or fine grind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States