Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Yup! I've made this recipe. The batter is ideal in thickness, texture and flavor. However, IMO, two important steps are missing. First, after inserting the sticks, thorough dry each dog with paper towels. Then roll of dust with plain white flour before dipping in the batter. Without these steps, the batter may sluf-off before or during frying. I've tried it both ways and the uniformity of the retained batter is much better with dry, floured dogs. An alternative is the semi-commercial idea of using pre-stuck, frozen dogs. Cooking will be lower and slower, but it works. And, for an easier, almost instant batter, see the Jiffy.com website recipe based on their corn muffin mix. Essentially the same batter, but easier to make. As simple as this product appears, getting the batter temperature and time 'just right,' will require some practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Very good. Going to try next time with a nice polish sausage. Can't wait to make them again. Thanks for sharing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smkellum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
SUPER good! I wish I had watched the video before making these (I screwed the frying all up, haha), but the flavor was out of this world! Truly is as good as the carnival corn-dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Awesome i LOVE this recipe!!! The best i have ever had! I added a tib bit more sugar to make them taste a little sweeter like atexas State Fair CornDogs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chriskura
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Lobster corndogs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Excellent! Although I have never made corndogs these turned out perfect and were delicious! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Best we've found so far...based on other suggestions we didn't add the pepper...very good but we're still looking for the ultimate corn dog recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
First time making homemade and these are it! I dried and rolled the dogs in flour first to make the batter stick better as reviewers suggested. Worked perfectly. These are super quick and easy to pull together and would be great as minis in kids' lunches as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made as written, didn't work out at all- batter fell off even after drying and flouring. Flavor wasn't anything special either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcarling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States