Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I live Peru, where corn dogs are unheard of, so these were a real treat. My roommate said they taste just like Sonic's corndogs. I cut the hotdogs in half making them into mini corndogs so that I could use less oil and still have them completely submerged. I nuked the hotdogs for about 20 seconds before dipping them in the batter, just to make sure they would be warm inside. I also made sure they were completely dry before dipping in the batter, and had no problems with the batter falling off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I love this recipe!! We are vegetarian and so I used veggie dogs for this and the kids (and hubbie) couldn't get enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is awesome. Our kids love this recipe. Use good dogs, not cheap. We cut ours into 1/3 so they will fit in fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
the best corn dog
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
OMG!!!! I made these for lunch and they were delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except that I cut it in half. I like a lot of batter so half of the recipe coated 4 Bun length Oscar Meyer hot dogs. I have a deep fryer (heated to 365), and these came out perfectly and were very fast to make...only took about 20 minutes total (the longest part was waiting for the oil to heat up to 365). I did not coat the dogs in flour or corn starch as other reviewers suggested but I did use a paper towel to dry the dogs first and had no trouble with getting the batter to stick. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These came out great! Served on 4th of july and actually made minis for snacks. They were a hit with the kids as well as adults. Just like the fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Awesome recipe, tastes just like the fair! I fried in my deep fryer at 375º for 3 to 4 minutes. Came out perfect without being greasy whatsoever! The only change I made was I omitted the pepper. Make sure to dry the hotdogs or roll them in cornstarch so the batter sticks. My batter was nice and thick and stuck well! Also, make sure you hold it in the oil for a few seconds before letting go. If you don't, it will sink to the bottom and stick. I was a bit worried about putting sugar in the batter, but it made it taste just like the carnival corndogs. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefGord
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I tried it for the first time. Getting the coating on evenly was a challenge. As my daughter commented "Dad, one of them looks more like a rat dog (shape) then a corn dog but they taste good". I believe getting the consistency of the batter is the key. Oh well, I'll keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was my first time making homemade corn dogs and it's a lot of fun and not as much trouble as I thought. The batter is delicious and tastes better than the frozen kind (I left out the pepper because I don't care too much for pepper in certain foods). I'm a vegetarian so it's been a long time since I had one at the fairgrounds, but my corn dogs made with Morningstar Farm veggie dogs came out perfectly and tasted like I remember them. Will definitely place this in my permanent recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was an easy recipe to throw together, everyone loved it. I was having a hard time getting the batter to stick to hotdogs, even after I coated them with flour, but persistence paid off, and they all turned out great. We ended up cutting the hotdogs into little bites (we called them chubs) and the kids enjoyed the treat! The leftover are going in the freezer for a quick afternoon snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Anne H. F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States