Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I,m a South African and we made these for our monthly supper club Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edenvale, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Absolutely wonderful recipe. I had to make two batches because I kept eating them before I could set them out. On the second batch I cut the sugar in half, just my own preference. When I ran out of hot dogs, I threw in some chopped onion and jalepenos and fried me up a batch of hush puppies. It was a little sweet for the hush puppies but they were of a texture(light and fluffy) that I have been seeking. Definitely will use this recipe again for Corndogs and Hush Puppies! TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I've used this recipe about six times now and they always turn out fabulous. I found that patting the hot dogs dry and coating them in flour helps keep the batter on. I put the batter in a shallow bowl wide enough for the hot dogs to lay flat at the bottom. I found that I can get a more even coating of batter over the hot dog by laying one in the batter and letting it sink in for a few minutes while I'm frying another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Excellent recipe. Works perfectly! The only thing I'd do differently next time is make a double batch of the batter. I hate having to fight to coat the last dogs smoothly and any leftover batter can just be dropped by spoonfuls into the oil to make a kind of hush puppy. Also, it's excellent made with honey instead of sugar. My brother will not eat refined sugar so it works nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Perfect I did make them into corn dog bites. Batter was awesome.better than fair or carnival.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
It takes only one word to describe this recipe... PERFECTION. I've never made corn dogs before, so I wasn't sure how these would turn out. Everyone raved about them. Thank you Suzzanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was a pretty easy recipe, but I felt like the corn dogs became very greasy... maybe I just didn't cook them right. They are corn dogs and they're bound to be greasy when they are cooked in oil. All in all, the recipe was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Machelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is the best corn dog recipe we have tried so far. Instead of adding the milk substitute it with cream style corn. Then I keep a tall glass full of the batter and just dip the dog right down in it. Also before dipping I roll the dog in corn starch first, this helps keep the batter on the dog. Were not big on deep fried foods but this recipe will make me pull the deep fryer off the shelf anytime. I'll put these corn dogs up against any fair food anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fremont, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
No pepper in mine either.I really love this recipe though. It's quick and simple, and using the drinking glass as dip container worked really well. I like my cornmeal with honey, so I decreased the sugar by a few tablespoons and added the honey to the mix. Will never ever buy frozen again. Why would you if in the same amount of time you can have fresh homemade ones that taste as good as these do. Boyfriend raved, I raved. Wonderful!!!! ***here's a fun "plus" to this recipe. If you have leftover batter (since I only do 1 pkg of dogs for the two of us). Drop the batter by tablespoons into the hot oil watch closely, turn over when tanned on one side, tan on other.... shake these little puppies in powdered sugar or cinn/sugar to coat after draining. Not bad dessert donuts!**** I've made these like above for awhile now, found myself without honey, decided to add 2T food grade coconut oil(didn't melt it, just mixed with fork with the flour,cornmeal and b.soda before adding egg and milk) This made the coating have a very slight coconut flavor which was nice, but the real benefit was that the coating was crisper and lighter. I'll be doing this again I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
We have had these a few times now. We love the taste of them but the one thing we're having trouble with is that they end up like little paddles. We can't get them to have the regular corn dog shape. Hopefully we figure that out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States