Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I'm only giving this recipe four stars because it was good... but it didn't taste like a classic corn dog to me or my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Absolutely the best recipe! Followed recipe ingredients (only had 10 hot dogs though!), but used my deep fryer set to 355 degrees. I did follow other suggestions; put batter in freezer, dried the dogs then rolled in flour - then put them in freezer while fryer was heating up. The batter is real thick. Had to make sure to drain most of the batter off before cooking -- batter swells a lot! Did not use the basket in fryer, just gently laid in one dog at a time. They sunk! Had to be careful not to 'move them' once they were in the oil. The came unstuck from the bottom by themselves without breaking the outer coating. Did find this out the hard way with the first one! Once they were browning and floating I placed the fryer basket on top of them to keep them submerged -- that way they cooked evenly on all sides! Not only do they look great, but they taste great too! Will never again be afraid to make corn dogs! Will save me a ton of money because my family loves these better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
These were easy and delicious! My batter was very thick after a couple hours in the fridge so I did use a little extra milk. Followed others suggestions of drying the hot dogs and making sure the batter is very cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glenn
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This recipe is very good. I made them for the kid’s lunch and had to make more as the kids went out and brought back some of their friends. I deleted the pepper but followed the rest of the recipe. Since I was feeding kids I cut the hotdogs in half and made minis for them. I made the batter an hour ahead and kept it in the refrigerator to keep it very cold. I made sure to dry the hotdogs well on paper towels and had no problems with the batter sticking to the hotdogs. I then used a tall glass to dip the dogs in and then put them in the oil. Thanks for the recipe Suzzanna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dillingham, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Add finely-chopped raw jalapeno pepper to the batter for a tangy delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Great with honey mustard!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I too love corn dogs but stopped eating them because of all the high fat content.Miss them terribly but with this recipe maybe I can have one now and then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
great taste.. although the kids laughhed at the shape. Maybe after a few times i will get the shape thing under control.. I would use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These corn dogs were amamzing!! My entire family loved them, taste just like the kind you get at a carnival, actually better!! Made me think if my childhood again and that was a loooong time ago. Can't wait to make them again, this time I will make 3 a piece I could have just kept eating them. So crunchy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This corndogs are perfect! best ive ever had. I boil the hot dogs first for a bit then dry them with a paper towel, and i roll them in flour so the mixture sticks! oh and also i cut them in half they look much cuter! amazin recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States