Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
The batter was a bit thick so I thinned it with milk, but it tasted amazing! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Excellent recipe! My family LOVED them. In fact, they all said "no more store bought corn dogs". I read many of the reviews before I made them today. I made up my batter last night but I used 3 tablespoons of honey instead of the 1/4 cup of white sugar. Since we don't eat pork, I used chicken hot dogs & they were delicious. I did cook my hot dogs ahead of time (boiled them for approximately 7-9 minutes - basically before they plumped up/burst -don't boil too long!) I did use corn starch on the hot dogs as recommended so the batter would stick but in my opinion, as long as the hot dogs are dried off adequately, this is unnecessary with cold batter (also recommended) but feel free to use this method if you like. The best & most useful tips I took advantage of were to place the mixed batter in a cup (tall measuring cup for me) to dip the hot dogs in before frying (makes it so much easier, trust me (I tried the bowl method someone mentioned 1st, which is to place the dogs in the bowl holding the batter & let them sink. This does NOT work well w/cold batter. You end up having to push them down with a tool or your hands & it gets messy. Just spoon batter into a tall glass or measuring cup for dipping.) Lastly, the batter MUST BE COLD. It sticks better and it so much easier to handle. Since I made my batter the night before, it was nice & cold the next day already. If desired add a couple of tsp of cayenne pepper to your batter for spice (after you make the ones for the kids!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talitha McEachin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
My son wanted corn dogs. I was prepared to just buy the unhealthy frozen ones but couldn't find any! So I gave this a try. It came out great! I didn't have a deep fryer so I just used a big heavy saucepan. The only thing I'd do different is cut them in half so they'd fit in my pan better! Also I'll play around with different types of healthy hot dogs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen Wessels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
hard to get the dough and oil the right temp. might be my inexperience
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I loved these corndogs - tasted just like the ones you get at the fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Absolutely loved them! They had a nice crunch to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Hyne Burklund

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Very good recipe. I didn't have skewers so I cut the wieners in thirds. Drying them worked great before dipping. The only thing I did differently was I substituted 1 1/4 cups buttermilk for the regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
my first time makijg corn dogs and this recipe turned out great. I dried the hot dogs and refrigerated the batter - a combo that helped the batter stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Let me say, I loathe corn dogs. Usually. I have never made them at home. I have never had a carnival corn dog because I've only had the frozen ones from the grocery store so I'd just stay away from them. Yuck. I am 7 mos pregnant and had a very strange craving for said item. Make my own popped into my head. Maybe they'll be different. Without a doubt, the best ever. Gosh they were so good. I left out the pepper and I did refrigerate the batter. I think it is important the batter is cold. While I couldn't outright dip the dogs, it was easy, albeit messy, to coat the dogs with my fingers. Batter stuck perfectly. I noticed that when the batter warmed up, it became runny and was getting more difficult to work with. I would definitely cool the batter. Next time I will skip the tip of putting it into a cup/jar since I had to use my hands anyway. But what a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Made these tonight for son. I cut Nathan's hot dogs into five sections per dog (bigger than the bun dogs). Dried them with paper towels - the coating stuck. I used a saucepan of oil - used skewers to dip them into and out of the oil. Coating puffed right up and browned nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States