Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I loved these corndogs - tasted just like the ones you get at the fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Absolutely loved them! They had a nice crunch to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Hyne Burklund

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Very good recipe. I didn't have skewers so I cut the wieners in thirds. Drying them worked great before dipping. The only thing I did differently was I substituted 1 1/4 cups buttermilk for the regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
my first time makijg corn dogs and this recipe turned out great. I dried the hot dogs and refrigerated the batter - a combo that helped the batter stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Let me say, I loathe corn dogs. Usually. I have never made them at home. I have never had a carnival corn dog because I've only had the frozen ones from the grocery store so I'd just stay away from them. Yuck. I am 7 mos pregnant and had a very strange craving for said item. Make my own popped into my head. Maybe they'll be different. Without a doubt, the best ever. Gosh they were so good. I left out the pepper and I did refrigerate the batter. I think it is important the batter is cold. While I couldn't outright dip the dogs, it was easy, albeit messy, to coat the dogs with my fingers. Batter stuck perfectly. I noticed that when the batter warmed up, it became runny and was getting more difficult to work with. I would definitely cool the batter. Next time I will skip the tip of putting it into a cup/jar since I had to use my hands anyway. But what a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Made these tonight for son. I cut Nathan's hot dogs into five sections per dog (bigger than the bun dogs). Dried them with paper towels - the coating stuck. I used a saucepan of oil - used skewers to dip them into and out of the oil. Coating puffed right up and browned nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
My kids and husband loved these. Said they tasted just like the ones at the fairgrounds! Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treasure Cooper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Very tasty but the batter didn't want to stay on in my shallow fryer. If my fryer were deeper I don't think there would be a problem. Will make again but need to work out some kinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
These were great, perfect sweet cornbread taste. I love using Hebrew National hot dogs for these. Make sure you use a non-stick pan to fry, otherwise you'll have a tough time turning the corndogs and the cornbread covering will come off and stick to the pan. Use a little more oil if you need to. I'm going to try a different method of frying next time and submerge the dogs without the skewers and insert them afterwards
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
My first attempt at making corn dogs. These were great, I did dry and roll them in flour and used a glass to dip them in. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States