Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
My first attempt at making corn dogs. These were great, I did dry and roll them in flour and used a glass to dip them in. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Excellent, only DO NOT use batter ice cold like Keri stated....I tried this, thinking it would be ready to go when I came home, batter was too thick to use..had to float it in hot water till I could dip...other than that I will be making these again...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
My wife is intolerant to gluten, milk and egg yolks. I used Bob's Red Mill All-Purpose gluten-free flour instead of regular flour, about 1/3 cup egg whites instead of the egg, about 2 tsp of honey in addition to the sugar, and 1 1/2 - 2 cups of almond milk instead of regular milk. I also added 2 tsp of xanthum gum to the recipe. The wife loves corn dogs and she was in total heaven when I made them, since she hasn't had one in quite a while. I cut up a vidallia onion into slices and made onion rings with the left-over batter, another BIG hit! I had half-a dozen tsp of batter left and just spooned the batter into the oil, making little hush puppies. They were absolutely delicious. The teenage boy said they tasted like donuts! They had a donut texture with a hint of "Cap'n Crunch" flavor. Thanks for the great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
These are AWESOME! I used the Bar-s classic smoked sausages with cheese for the franks and they came out perfect! The batter poofed into a light, crisp and oh so delicious corn bread coating. Next time we make this we will however need to make a larger batch as the basic recipe only made enough to coat 7 of those sausages, and that was pushing it. We plan on experimenting with the batter a bit, maybe make it just a TAD thinner, although as it is, I love it, my hubby is just one that MUST fiddle lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I used vegetarian hot dogs (Smartdogs) and they came out great! This is the best cornmeal batter that I have ever had! I also battered broccolli and morningstar "sausage" patties with it as well and they all came out delicious. Fried food nights are the best with this easy to use recipe! Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I'm only giving this recipe four stars because it was good... but it didn't taste like a classic corn dog to me or my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Absolutely the best recipe! Followed recipe ingredients (only had 10 hot dogs though!), but used my deep fryer set to 355 degrees. I did follow other suggestions; put batter in freezer, dried the dogs then rolled in flour - then put them in freezer while fryer was heating up. The batter is real thick. Had to make sure to drain most of the batter off before cooking -- batter swells a lot! Did not use the basket in fryer, just gently laid in one dog at a time. They sunk! Had to be careful not to 'move them' once they were in the oil. The came unstuck from the bottom by themselves without breaking the outer coating. Did find this out the hard way with the first one! Once they were browning and floating I placed the fryer basket on top of them to keep them submerged -- that way they cooked evenly on all sides! Not only do they look great, but they taste great too! Will never again be afraid to make corn dogs! Will save me a ton of money because my family loves these better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
These were easy and delicious! My batter was very thick after a couple hours in the fridge so I did use a little extra milk. Followed others suggestions of drying the hot dogs and making sure the batter is very cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glenn
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This recipe is very good. I made them for the kid’s lunch and had to make more as the kids went out and brought back some of their friends. I deleted the pepper but followed the rest of the recipe. Since I was feeding kids I cut the hotdogs in half and made minis for them. I made the batter an hour ahead and kept it in the refrigerator to keep it very cold. I made sure to dry the hotdogs well on paper towels and had no problems with the batter sticking to the hotdogs. I then used a tall glass to dip the dogs in and then put them in the oil. Thanks for the recipe Suzzanna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dillingham, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Add finely-chopped raw jalapeno pepper to the batter for a tangy delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 518) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States