Corn Dog Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Delicious! We loved this recipe. I omitted the sage and celery like other reviewers and added a can of creamed corn. It was to die for! Everyone in the family enjoyed this very moist main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
I have made this recipe many times, as my husband is a huge corn dog fan, however, I have never added the onion or the celery. It tastes just like a corn dog without the onion and celery, so you may want to try foregoing those two ingredients. Also, this is a great recipe to serve on football Sunday along with some chili! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDIRENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
This was good, but I probably won't make it too often. After reading the reviews, I made some changes and was pleased with the product. I did not add the sage, I used 1/2 shredded cheese and 1/2 velveeta, and cut the hot dogs into 1/4 inch rings which made the hot dogs go farther. I also halved the recipe and it made a 9x9 inch pan. In a previous post there was a question as to why the celery. Mystery solved! After my second bite of this casserole, the light bulb went on and if I had added the sage, this product would have been more of a corn bread dressing with hot dogs. Glad I left the sage out. My husband and I like this casserole anyway and had second helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was wonderful! The only changes that I made was to use only 2/3 cup milk and add a can of creamed corn. I think next time I am going to make these into muffins so I can keep them for quick snacks for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I have made this three times. First time by the recipe. Second time I substituted yellow onions. We preferred them, over the green onions. This time I substituted some american cheese for the cheddar-I use sharp cheddar. This turned out good with both cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pzzlvr123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Very easy and fun recipe. Even if the celery sounds unusual, leave it in for the moisture. My family likes it very much, and you can even put mustard or ketchup on top. I have also baked it on top of hot chili, and that turned out very good too. I use chili powder rather than sage for that option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I like corn dogs, which is odd of me since I'm not a huge fan of hot dogs and I really don't like corn bread. Still, I'm not a huge fan of frying so I prefer enjoying my corn dogs differently. I've made some corn dog muffins on here that we enjoy but was looking for something new. I made some adjustments based on what I had on hand and on the review by G. I don't have celery or green onions so I just left it out, and I also left out the butter. I used two packages of little smokies and added onion powder and 1/2 c of plain greek yogurt to the mix along with the milk and eggs. I also used the recipe for Corn Bread Mix on here for the corn bread. I wasn't sure how much to use, so I might have used too much (I made 12 servings of the corn bread mix recipe and used all of it). I used a 9x13 casserole pan. It turned out wonderfully within 35 minutes. This does taste like corn dogs to me--there's a bit of a change, maybe more breading that corn breads have, and perhaps not as sweet, but for an easy casserole that eliminates frying the corn dogs, it works just great for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I made some changes to this recipe, but still feel that it deserves 5 stars. I omitted the celery and added one can of whole kernel corn, drained. I also added 1/2 cup lite sour cream, because some people had said the casserole was dry. I added in two diced jalapeno peppers. I only used 1 lb of hotdogs, rather than 1 and 1/2 pounds. I used 1/2 tsp sage, and added onion and garlic powder. My family really loved this more than I did, but I would have given it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I liked this recipe very much. I had to bake it longer than the recipe called for, but it was still easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2001
This is terrific! It tastes like the corn dogs I used to get at the county fair but without all the greasiness. Great dish for a potluck! Definitely serve with mustard. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States